Anger Management

Becky and I came out of the grocery store today to discover that the side ramp to our van was blocked by a car who had double parked in a disabled parking spot.  The driver was still in the vehicle, so I rapped on the window and asked him to move.  He argued that he was in a regular parking spot and he didn’t have to move.  I pointed to the signs with blue wheelchairs on them and suggested that this may mean disabled parking.   He said he didn’t understand me.  I offered to explain it to him, but he decided to move his car; to another ‘no parking’ area.

It reminded me of a completely frustrating day that Becky and I had a couple of months ago.  After dealing with rude people, crazy driving, and long delays, at an appointment and a grocery store one morning; I was in a hurry to get home and shut the front door.  We came out of the grocery store to find the only ramp down to the parking area blocked by a shiny, black, pick-up truck.

I had seen a person jump out of it and head to one of the shops in the corner.  The most likely place they had gone  was a MacDonald’s, a spot well-known for harbouring miscreants, at the very end of the plaza.  At this point, I had been pushed a little too far, I was tired, I wanted to go home, and my exit was blocked.  I blew!

I threw the door open at the MacDonald’s, sending shock waves throughout Mississauga.  Everybody turned to look at me.  Good!  “Who parked their pick-up truck outside”, I shouted?  A bejewelled, twenty-something, started walking towards me.  “I parked outside”, she said sweetly.  “Well, you’re blocking the ramp!”

We moved outside to stand beside the truck.  “Do you need the ramp”, she asked.  She really did.  She had the audacity to give me attitude after she had parked illegally ten times over, and not only blocked our right of way, but the fire trucks’ as well!  Becky was blocked from view by a group of three men who were standing outside chatting.  “No, I don’t need the ramp”, I said, “but she does”, and at that point, Becky manoeuvred her way from behind the group of men and out into the open.  Game, set, and match!

The girl turned beet red.  The guys stopped talking, and even though we were outside, it was suddenly silent.  I suppose the penny finally dropped.  She jumped into the truck and fumbled about in her bag looking for keys.  I guess it’s hard with someone’s eyes burning holes in your skull.  You could feel the tension crackling in the air.  She managed to find her keys and start the truck, but as soon as she tried to move, she stalled it.  She was definitely flustered, and I definitely wasn’t helping. 

The truck finally moved, and after being held hostage by someone who only cared about themselves, we were finally able to go home.  I wonder who these people are that think that their convenience is much more important than the basic rights of other people;  who believe that road signs are for others, and not meant for them?  I try very hard not to lose my temper, but sometimes it seems impossible.  Even then, I try and reason with the person and don’t resort to name calling.  I don’t like how I feel after fighting to get to my own vehicle; the feeling of being controlled, the feeling of disrespect, the feeling that people don’t care.  I can only hope that the odd person learns a lesson and thinks twice before blocking a ramp.  For me; it’s back to ‘Anger Management’ classes!

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Disability, Humour, Life, wheelchair and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anger Management

  1. Tom Bradley says:

    Really well written and insightful, Cheb…I’m once again amazed how well you can keep your patience and positive attitude when confronted by some peoples’ level of selfishness and indifference to individuals with special needs…

    What you did at the McDonald’s is what I’m sure a lot of people in your position would have LOVED to do…now, if we could only improve the “food”…

    Tom

Leave a Reply

