Bookmark This!

Becky is a brute with objects.  Two keyboards, and I’ve just had the disc drive replaced, again, in her laptop.  It reminded my of the first instance, not twelve months ago. 

As I mentioned in a previous blog, Becky has to be stretched and have splints applied on her ankles and feet.  I spend far too much time on my knees, but this is where I have to be to get the ankles in a good position ready for the splints.  So there I am, I’ve done it a thousand times (not an exaggeration) I’m on my knees twisting and massaging Becky’s feet and ankles.  I glance up and see something that doesn’t make sense.  You know that moment, when you struggle to comprehend what your eyes are telling you.  “Becky, is that a bookmark sticking out of your computer?”

“Well…yes” she said.  Okay, here we go.  I prepare myself for a drawn out explanation.  “The disc was stuck”, she said.  “So you put a bookmark in it,” I queried?  “I thought I could fix it myself”, she offered.  “Because of all the training and experience you have with computers?”

“Oh.  I was trying to get the disc out,” she explained again.  “Yeah, I’m getting that part of it.  I’m not getting the poking an object into a disc drive part of it.”  Pause.  I stand up and have a good look.  There it is; a bright pink bookmark with Becky’s name on it, half emerging from a laptop.  I shake my head.  Where does she come up with these things?  Try as I might, I cannot fathom how Becky’s mind works.  “Well, I think you can come with me, and explain this to the computer repair man yourself,” I said.  “Okay.”

Later that day, after rearranging our plans a little, we went to our regular repair guy.  He looks in disbelief at what we hand him; a laptop with a pink bookmark sticking out of it.  Becky starts explaining, and he begins to turn pink, then red, and finally he can’t hold it anymore and starts laughing.  “I think we can take care of that,” he said.  Can we get a discount for buying in bulk”, I ask?  No.  Oh well, no harm in asking.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Computers, Disability, Humour, Life, Repairs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bookmark This!

  1. Tom Bradley says:

    That’s our little product tester in action…can’t imagine how she came up with such an elegant solution, but she did…you just can’t script stories like this…

    IBM, Apple, Acer…give us a call…we have someone you need to meet!!

    Tom

Leave a Reply

