Cable Gal

In the middle of looking for a video, that I don’t think exists, I happened to ask Becky last night, “Where’s your Kindle”?  A shrug of the shoulders told me she couldn’t be less interested.  “It was kind of expensive”, I prompted.  She came over to her desk.  “I don’t know”, she said.

Thus began one of many searches last night.  I had planned a quiet evening, with Tom, watching Murdoch Mysteries, but it wasn’t to be.  I’m sure Murdoch would understand; we had our own mystery to solve.  

First we had to find the Kindle, which had been a birthday present from Tom and myself, not four months ago.  Glad to see it meant so much to her.  Anyhoo, no point whining.   Where was the bloody thing?  I pulled Becky’s desk apart looking for the e-reader.  I was starting to get quite upset; thinking that it was gone, when I happened to pull out all the DVDs in a chartreuse basket sitting at the back of the desk.  At the bottom of the basket was the Kindle.  Phew.

Maybe not.  The battery was dead.  I flicked Becky’s laptop on ready to plug in the Kindle to recharge it.  Okay, where was the USB cable?  Do you know how many USB cables there are?  Too many.  I tried all the ones that were in plain sight with no luck, and then started on the ones that were hidden out of sight; in drawers and boxes, and things.  I even went downstairs to my computer to try some of the cables down there.

It became a little confusing here.  I was trying cables and then putting them away when I knew they didn’t fit; Tom went around ‘finding’ cables and trying them and then leaving them out.  I saw cables lying around and tried them out before putting them away, and so on.  I think we tried every cable five times before we realised that the Keystone Cop routine was getting us nowhere.

Bloody Hell, Becky.  Where’s the cable?  How can a USB cable disappear?  Oh well, what could we do?  We had an expensive present that was garbage unless we could find a way to charge it, and so began the third hunt of the night.  Perhaps a cell phone cable for charging would work.

Do you know how many cell phone cables there are?  You already know the answer.  I pulled open a drawer.  OMG!  It looked like a nest of vipers.  I started pulling out phones and cords, which were all tangled up together.  It was just like Christmas.  Tom started testing out the connections, and by Jove, he found one.

We weren’t sure it was working, as the screen on the Kindle didn’t change, and we couldn’t switch it on.  “Let’s leave it for a bit and hope it doesn’t blow the circuits”, I suggested.  We went to clear up the mess left in Becky’s room, but she was already doing a fine job.   “Great job, Becky”, I said, “we’re just waiting to see if this cable works on your Kindle”.  She nodded, but was already immersed in her room purge.

By the time we got back to the charger, the Kindle was showing the Welcome screen and listing all the books that were loaded onto it.  Thank goodness.  “That was a close one”, I said to Tom.  “Yep, but it’s working now”, he answered.  Quite right.  We never found the cable.  It has gone into the Nether world of missing socks and homework.  The cable we used is a cable for an old cell phone, but it works, and in the end, that’s all that matters.  You can’t always find what you’re looking for, but you can usually find something else that works just as well.  You just have to keep an open mind.  Murdoch would be proud of us.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Computers, Disability, Humour, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cable Gal

  1. Tom Bradley says:

    Attention USB cable makers…make a universal connector please, so we don’t have to go through this…this goes back to the old phrase “we can land a man on the moon but we can’t (insert seemingly impossible task here)”…

    Nice title and great story again, Cheb…way to “re-Kindle” interest in the blog…

    Can’t imagine what’s next…but then again, we never can…

Leave a Reply

