OMG!

The big meeting was held this morning, and I wasn’t even close to being prepared for the information that was given to us.  The large amount of funding that I talked about in the last blog, isn’t a one-time-gift, it is an annual amount, to be given to Becky as long as she needs it.  To put it in prespective; it’s like getting a free car every year for the rest of your life.  OMG! 

The funding is given to support individuals with disabilities who want to live independently.  There is no waiting list and there is nowhere you can send an application.  It becomes available from time to time, and certain agencies are asked to put names forward.  Becky’s name was put forward, and, I guess because she already had a Life Plan ready, she got the funding.

The sticking point, if it could be called that, is that she needs to be moving towards independent living ‘tout suite’.  We now have a condensed timeline of twelve months.  One year, at the most, until Becky has her own life, and I will have mine.  I think we screamed in the van most of the way home!  Can I possible convey what this means to me? 

After decades of restrictions, physical and mental exhaustion, and financial frustration, I will now be getting, not one, but all of the above, reversed.  I will once again have choices, that just involve me.  I will be able to live in a house with two storeys, purchase a vehicle that doesn’t accommodate a wheelchair, take holidays, have sick days, go out at night, take courses, go hiking, and…pause for a breath. 

It is intoxicating, as life should be, or can be on occasion.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Disability, Independence, Life, wheelchair and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to OMG!

  1. aefountain says:

    Congratulations, I truly understand. Maybe even a date.

    • chebandbecky says:

      That’s great! I’m looking forward to reading your blog when I have some time…

      I don’t think I remember what a date is like. Of course I’m getting older and my memory…what was I saying?

Leave a Reply

