Day 3

I know it’s Day 4, but I’m writing as if it were yesterday.  Now I’ve got that cleared up…I sat down today to figure out a schedule for the person I will need to hire to help Becky.

I start working with Becky at 8 am and finish around 9:30 pm, seven days a week, no holidays, no sick days, and no benefits.  I do get three days free while Becky is at her day program from 9:30 am to 3:00 pm.  Not including the fact that I have to stay over night, every night, as well; that comes to 78 hours a week!  Bloody Hell.  Who’s going to want to work that?  A workaholic, maybe?  No wonder I’m so tired.

It became very clear that this will require two people, and Becky will need to spend more time either on her own, or with her room-mate to be, as we only have enough funding for maybe 35 hours a week.  She is usually okay on her own for an hour or two, but this year has been different.  It has sometimes felt as if she was physically glued to me.  She does seem to be more like her old self, so hopefully she will be more independent too.  Even so, this will be a huge adjustment as she learns to spend several hours at a time without adult supervision.

Although it sounds a bit bleak, Becky will not be alone.  Other people will be dropping in to visit and support her, including myself, and we have over 6 months to prepare.  All is well.  I have faith in myself, and in Becky.

Maybe this should be the next Reality TV show?  Living on a desert island; piece-of-cake.  Try preparing a physically and cognitively challenged adult for independence.  They’ll be dropping like flies.  It’s like trying to move a mountain with a teaspoon.  You have to do it slowly, bit by bit, one day at a time.  You can’t think about the whole mountain; it is too big, you must focus on the small changes that are happening in front of you.

We’ve started digging, and we’re moving forward.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Disability, Independence, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 3

  1. Tom Bradley says:

    Cheb, you’re remarkable…when you think how overwhelming the job might be, only you the “chunking queen” could figure a way to get through it…let me get my spoon, and I’ll help…

    Great post by the way…the number of hours really is staggering…

Leave a Reply

