Day 12

On the Twelfth day of Christmas, my Case Manager sent to me; a package of information.

Okay, it’s not the Twelfth day of Christmas, but it is the twelfth day of Becky’s journey to independence.  A large brown envelope arrived today, full of interesting suggestions, recommendations, and resources.  A bit of light reading before bedtime. 

Probably the most valuable piece of the package, for me anyway, was the list of places to look for workers.  I was quite concerned about putting an advert in the local newspaper and having a bunch of weirdos and miscreants applying to work ‘with the little girl’.  Yuch!  Anyway, it looks like I don’t have to face that particular nightmare at the moment, as many agencies have already compiled lists of people willing and able to work with adults with special needs.  Some of them have the police checks already done aswell.  Phew.

It is a scary thing to put your vulnerable, dependent adult in the hands of a stranger.  In the past, I have hired contract workers to work about four hours week, but I am usually nearby when they are working.  This is a completely different ‘kettle of fish’.  Once the training period is over, I won’t be there.  The person I hire will be completely responsible for Becky’s needs.  Yikes.  I will have to trust Becky to direct her care and let me know if there is a problem.  I guess there is a learning curve for me too.

Back to the package…also included were some samples of contracts, confidentiality statements, and emergency authorization forms.  I will have to draft my own at some point, which is no problem because I have so much time on my hands (spoken with searing sarcastic voice).  I will also have to draft a list of expectations, and here I become a bit overwhelmed.  There’s a lot of expectations.  I want this to be clear to the person I’m hiring, but is it ridiculous to list every duty they may be expected to perform?  I’ll chew on it over the next few days. 

While I was writing this blog, I could have been writing a list for the new worker.  LOL.  I think I’m entitled to spend half an hour a day doing something for me.  It’s usually having a shower, but I skipped that today because I took Becky swimming.  Hope you’re laughing…

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Disability, Independence, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

