Footloose

Becky surprised me this morning; I found a large puddle of coffee in the hall. I cleaned it up and started to make a cup of tea. Becky was making herself another coffee when I noticed that her slipper was wet. I bent down to check it and realized that both feet were soaked. The coffee must have gone on her feet as well.

Panic mode! “Okay, Becky, we need to get your socks off right now.” I pulled off the wet rags on her feet, only to see crimson skin underneath. At first I could only see red; first degree burns, but then I noticed some skin that was not attached…oh boy, second degree. Would it go to third degree? Cold cloths, feet up, pain killers, and waiting to see if we needed to go to emergency.

After fifteen minutes, I took the cold cloths off and saw a blister two inches long. Becky’s left leg was in constant spasm at this point. Obviously I couldn’t put Becky’s splints on, which meant she was totally dependent. The trip to the theatre/cinema this afternoon was out of the question, and everything for the next two days had to be reconsidered.

The first ‘port of call’ was the pharmacy. Most people were in there buying last minute presents and Christmas cards; only I was there for emergency supplies. ‘Let’s see; sterile gauze, tape, antiseptic cream,and pain killers.’. Everything you could need to make Christmas extra special.

By the time I got back home, the areas of redness had really decreased in size and the several large blisters were filling up. Beauty. Don’t mind my sense of humor, I was relieved that we weren’t heading to a hospital, and that only one foot/ ankle was injured. “Becky, you’ll have stay in bed for a couple days”, I told her. “Okay”, she replied.

Becky’s timing is famous; pick any holiday to have a medical crisis. This time at least, it wasn’t an emergency. We’ll have to ‘change and rearrange’ some things, but that’s okay. I wanted to have a quiet Christmas, and I guess, I got it. Be careful what you wish for, it might come true…

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Disability, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

