Shake Hands

British readers will remember this saying from that excellent series “Boys From The Blackstuff”. It also is one of those British traditions that seals a contract. A handshake legally binds an agreement, or it did when I was living there, 25 years ago. I even remember my Dad buying a used car off a man who would not take a deposit, but would only accept a handshake to seal the deal. I clearly remember them; not passing money, or signing paperwork, but standing in the driveway shaking hands.

Why am I writing about this in Arizona; because everybody shakes hands down here. From the sales staff to the delivery people, every transaction starts and ends with a handshake. I find it quite comforting to see this old tradition continuing in this ‘New World’.

When the sales person takes my hand after signing a contract, I feel they are thanking me for the business and acknowledging their responsibilities. When the delivery person comes up to me, introduces themselves, and shakes my hand; I think they will take greater care and be respectful. Perhaps you think I am being silly, but so far, the only person who did not use this British greeting, is the only person I’m having difficulty with.

I’m not recommending it to others, I’m just noting my observations. I like it, that is all, and I’m pleasantly surprised to find the handshake alive and well, a third of the way around the world.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Life, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shake Hands

  1. Tom Bradley says:

    I agree with you, Cheb…it was surprising how often it happened in Phoenix…that and having doors opened by staff, walking you out after a transaction, etc…I will endeavor to do it more often in my business dealings after the experiences we had…nice post!

    Tom

Leave a Reply

