Dreaming

I haven’t been writing much lately, because I’ve been a bit fed up.  The chaos followed us to Arizona.  We’ve had not one, but four leaks in the plumbing.  Two of them were stop valves, so we had to keep turning the water off.  Also, the company that I had arranged for equipment for Becky totally dropped the ball.  We are still waiting for them to deliver anything.  It has been a steady stream of phone calls (that will cost a fortune) and plumbers; not what I was looking for.  So I got fed up.  Even though we were in this beautiful environment, we couldn’t go out and enjoy it.

I’m sure other people have holidays that are relaxing, fun, or adventurous.  Ours just seem to be ‘mayhem’ moved to a different spot.  We were in Birmingham, UK, last spring to visit the family.  The day after we arrived, Becky spilt a whole cup of coffee on the TV remote and the lovely white comforter on the hotel bed.  ‘That’s two items for the dumpster’, I thought, so I don’t think they made much money off us.  The next  day, Tom and I went for a short walk down to my Mom’s grave, and when we got back to the hotel, the alarm was screaming, and a red light on a panel behind the front desk was flashing.  Becky.  We knew it was her.  Just had to be. 

I ran up the hallway to see a little foot sticking out of the door to our room.  “Becky.  Are you okay”, I asked.  “Yes”, she said.  I opened the door expecting blood, vomit, broken limbs, but no, everything looked fine.  Tom went back to the front desk to tell them there was no emergency and could they please switch the alarm off.  It took a few seconds, but we finally had silence.  “Okay, Becky, what happened?”

“I pulled the  switch”, she said.  “The emergency switch”, I asked.  “Yes”, she said.  “I thought it was for Help”, she continued.  “It is”, I answered, “what did you need help with”?

“I needed help opening my popcorn”, she said sweetly.

Excellent.  We had a little chat about help vs. emergency, and hoped the hotel wouldn’t be too ticked off. As it was, they saw the humour in the situation, and we all managed to laugh about it.  But, honestly, when it’s every trip, everywhere we go, it becomes a bit tiresome. 

Don’t worry, I am feeling better now.  I realize that our lives are chaotic, and there’s no point being angry about things you can’t change.  I just thought it would be nice, for once, to sit out on a patio, and read a book.  Ah well, dream on…

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Disability, Humour, Life, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dreaming

  1. Tom Bradley says:

    I’ve been waiting for that story to hit your blog, Cheb…it’s the best example of “the chaos” vortex…frustrating, infuriating, hysterically funny…you can’t even dream up scenarios like this…well written…glad you’re feeling better…

    Tom (sent from something other than an iPod)

Leave a Reply

