Bad Boys

Perhaps you are not yet convinced that I attract chaos.

I have only lived in countries where firearms are illegal, yet today I witness a shooting while I’m on holiday.

I was out on the patio, ready to sit down with a book, as per previous dream, when I heard a couple of “pops”. I didn’t take any notice, but then I heard another one, and this time, a flock of pigeons took off from a roof at the back of us. Then I see a man running, slowly joined by another one. They didn’t seem to be in any particular hurry, so again, I didn’t pay much attention.

They were joined by a young woman, who I assumed was with them, and headed over to a black vehicle. The two guys got in and left the woman behind. ‘Strange’, I thought. Once the vehicle had pulled out of the parking lot, people came out and I could hear them asking if everyone was okay. Even then, I thought it was some sort of prank. It certainly wasn’t a robbery, as the vehicle they left in was new and high end.

Someone said something about a broken window, and I started to think that this had been a shooting. In less than two minutes, there were five police cruisers screaming into the parking area. I carried on with the day and decided to go for a walk with Becky.

By the time we left, there was a helicopter hovering and I could see yellow tape strewn across the street. Never a good sign.

On the way back from our walk, I ran into the lady next door. She had also heard the gun shots and called the police. She managed to find out that there had been a double homicide. We watched the crowd of police milling around as we chatted. A Mobile Command Centre pulled up, just after the helicopter departed.

I don’t feel anything, yet at least one life has been lost. I saw the murderer, but it doesn’t compute. I can’t get my head around it all. How can a life be so easily taken? And if these guys are caught, and they weren’t very discreet, they will spend their lives under lock and key. In a few seconds, a man chose to end someone’s life, and to live with the consequences. What could possibly have been worth that? Money? Drugs?

For someone who has spent almost twenty years fighting to save, or fighting to improve my daughter’s life, it seems quite surreal.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Life, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bad Boys

  1. Tom Bradley says:

    Surreal is right…I cannot imagine witnessing such a thing…chaos notwithstanding, I’m relieved you’re both OK…

Leave a Reply

