Parting Is Such Sweet Sorrow

20120125-124231.jpg
We are driving home tomorrow. Becky was quite upset this morning and kept apologizing because she had asked to go home early. I assured her I wasn’t upset, but she was still teary. She told me how much she missed her friends, her movies, and the hamster. I told her it was understandable. Still she wasn’t appeased.

Then, Becky told me how much she will miss the people here. “yes”, I agreed, “the people in Arizona are very friendly”. Next, Becky told me how good her feet and left arm felt, which was the main reason for coming. She has spasticity (tightness) in her muscles which is affected by the cold weather in Ontario. I think, and it’s always a bit of a guess with Becky’s emotions, that she loves it in Arizona but misses some things in Ontario.

She said she felt at home here, and I must admit, I do too. I explained that sometimes when we travel, we feel a connection with a place and don’t want to leave. We have to realize that it’s a bit of a fantasy, for the most part, as we are not dealing with everyday distractions when we are just visiting.

But in this little condo in Tempe, we have dealt with some typical problems, if 5 leaks can be considered typical, but we have still been more relaxed than we are at home. The pace of life is a little slower, the roads are less congested, and the weather has been perfect. It is still breathtaking every day to pull out onto the main road and see mountains in the distance. Ontario will look flat in comparison.

How do we deal with Vacation Blues? I told her we should work very hard so we come back again as soon as possible, but in the meantime we can adapt some of our habits to better suit our changing needs. I, for one, have enjoyed eating out, so perhaps we can eat out more often, which won’t be difficult as we don’t eat out at all. Becky has enjoyed the native american culture, so we can look into local Pow-wows when we get home.

When you have enjoyed an experience, there is always some sadness in leaving. We can remind ourselves that it is only one small part of a larger whole, that it is a stop-off on the journey, or any other philosophy that soothes us. The truth is, for me anyway, that I like being happy, and I’m reluctant to move on when I am happy. Apparently, my daughter has similar feelings.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Life, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

