Day 74

For those of you that were following the blog before we took to the road a month ago, you’ll perhaps remember that we were working towards Becky’s independence.

I arrived home to a pile of mail and several phone calls regarding Becky. “Am I looking for a place for her to live?” Er, no. “Have I hired any support staff?”. That would be negative also. So, you’ve basically been goofing off. Basically.

I put my arse in gear and posted an ad for a support worker to help Becky in the morning. With this person in place, I could start looking for a job. ‘Hold on there, Buckwheat.’ As it turns out, everybody that was available was from Brampton, the city north of us, and not prepared to drive 40 minutes each way for a two hour shift.

This was the first setback, and as I mulled over it, I quickly turned it into a frantic situation. I went to bed in a bit of a panic as I couldn’t figure out how I was going to move forward without help on the morning. All the plans I had made were swimming around in my head. I had even contacted a professional agency, but they had a four hour minimum requirement. Bugger. I was stuck.

I naturally resolved this problem during an insomniac episode at 5 a.m. this morning. (That’s when I do my best thinking) I realized that if I did things in a different order, everything would work out. So the new plan is to find a condo for Becky as soon as possible, in the north part of Mississauga, where there is a greater pool of workers. I will move in with her, which is the new cunning bit, until she can find a room-mate. Becky will be moving towards her goal of independence, but the time pressure will be off. It also means I can be there to monitor things as she becomes acclimatized to her new environment.

I can then get the house fixed up, and up for sale without the Chaos Queen in it. When the house is sold, I can move my stuff into storage until Becky is ready to take on the ultimate challenge; living independently. At that point I will find a place to live and begin my new life too.

For someone who was once given 24 hours to live, I think it’s a miracle that we’re even contemplating this. If this is what Becky can achieve with a severely injured brain, what can you achieve with your perfectly healthy one? She is always cheerful, and rarely complains, although she struggles physically on an hourly basis. She never gives up because something is too hard, and she always forgives unconditionally. She inspires me every day to be a better person, and I hope some day, she may inspire you.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Disability, Family, Independence, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

