A Perfect Day

I’m so excited today. Besides the beautiful weather we’re experiencing, I had an opportunity to view a condo this morning, and I’m interviewing a lady shortly about a support worker position. I basically went around all day doing the cha-cha. It’s that moment in the proceedings where all things are possible. How exciting is that!

I expected nothing from the condo, and was very surprised to find a light and airy space with privacy for both occupants. ‘This could work’, I thought to myself. Well, I told the realtor as well. There was a flow through the space. Does that sound flaky? It’s probably the art background filtering through. It just means that Becky is less likely to do an Austin Powers if there are no dead ends. Remember that bit in the first movie where he tries to turn around using a golf cart; three inches forward, stop, reverse, four inches back, stop, forward three inches, stop. I cried I was laughing so hard when I saw that for the first time. Anyhoo, The condo building was surrounded by nice landscaping, and was across from a plaza with a grocery store; everything on our “want” list.

Could it be that simple? Have we found the right place on Day 1? The house we’re in now was the second place I looked at, so I guess it could happen. Anyway, Becky and I are going together tomorrow so we can assess the doorway sizes and the bathroom space for the wheelchair.

I’ve just finished interviewing the lady for one of the jobs, and she’s wonderful. Wow! A condo and a support worker in eight hours. My idea of a perfect day.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Disability, Family, Home, Independence, Life, parenting, wheelchair and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Perfect Day

  1. treadmarkz says:

    I’m really happy for you!

Leave a Reply

