Brag and Gag

According to my friend, the same one that recommended bulk purchases of reading glasses, this maybe a ‘brag and gag’ blog. They usually are found in letters from distant relatives, occasionally from neighbours, and almost never from dear friends.

I was telling her that we had put an offer in on a condo and we are just waiting to hear if the ‘status report’ is acceptable before we jump up and down. “We are very excited”, I told her, She then started telling me about a letter she had received from a relative that she hasn’t spoken to in several years. “It’s something else”, she said. “In a good way or a bad way”, I asked? She then told me about ‘brag and gag’ letters. They go something like this…

‘My son is going to Harvard. We can’t decide whether to buy a winter home in Malta or Hawaii. Our daughter’s getting married to a member of the nobility.’

I couldn’t stop laughing. We talk about her dog eating garbage, my cat yakking up at in opportune moments, not getting a haircut for nine months, our offspring sending us into closets to cry, and so on. Apparently, her relative is as far removed from our reality as we are from the Queen’s. Then came the big question, “what are you going to write back”? More laughter. “I don’t know”, she said, “but it probably won’t have much personal information in it”.

It’s always great to have good news to share, but a real friend is just as happy hearing the bad news, and the best friends leave you laughing after you’ve told them.

So if this is a ‘brag and gag’ blog, it’s more about having a wonderful friend who can laugh with me over calamities, than it is about buying a condo.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Family, Humour, Life, parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Brag and Gag

  1. Good luck with the condo! You could write your own brag and gag letter if you talk about the condo AND the hairball.

  2. Tom Bradley says:

    Yep…furballs and crying in the closet…do they allow either one at Harvard? I guess “Chip” and “Buffy” don’t have “those” issues…too bad, ’cause that’s where the fun is…

    Tom

Leave a Reply

