I Think My Car Hates Me

I picked up the van from the garage on Wednesday and thankfully put it into ‘drive’. The next day, I went to pick up Becky from her day program, when suddenly, no accelerator. I was turning into a driveway, and managed to cruise off the road and out of the way of oncoming traffic. ‘That was weird’, I thought. I picked up Becky and headed home. During some slow traffic, it happened again. I think it must have slipped out of gear and into neutral. It happened one more time, and that was it; I was totally freaked out.

I dropped Becky off at home and drove to, you guessed it, Canadian Tire. After explaining what had happened I started to walk home. I had gone from not being able to change gears, to the van changing gears when it felt like it. Did it have a mind of its own? It sure seemed that way.

A couple of hours later, the mechanic phoned to say that he couldn’t replicate the problem. Super. It just does it for me; the ungrateful….beeping, beep, beep, beep! Why do vehicles do this? I went online and found tons of chats about the exact same thing; “my car has a problem, but not when the mechanic tests it”. If we take out the word ‘car’ it starts to sound like children. “My child misbehaves, but not with the babysitter.”

Are we in “2001, A Space Odyssey” or in Stephen King’s “Christine”? I hope not, but it seems to me that these books were both based on the phenomena I was experiencing; mechanical devices misbehaving for their owners. How do I regain control, or do I? Does it involve unplugging all the wires, or using a front-end loader?

I know it sounds drastic, but I did mentally visualize hitting the van with a baseball bat. I better not say that too loud; you never know who might be listening, and I don’t want to upset…her.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Car, Family, Humour, Life, Repairs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

