Versatile Blogger Award

I received a nomination for this award a few days ago. At first I was very excited. I didn’t take it as a sign of my greatness, but it did feel like I was being acknowledged as a blogger in the WordPress community.

I started checking on the requirements for accepting the award; thank the person who nominated you (of course, no problem) write seven things about yourself, and nominate 15 other blogs. This was a problem. I don’t want to tell you seven things about myself. If I wanted to do that I would have done it already.

And how about 15 other nominations? Why 15? Why can’t I pick how many, and if I left any body out, would they feel slighted, even if it was unintentional? It seemed like a lot of work to add all these links, no matter how great they were, to my blog. Besides that, what is blogging about? It’s about writing what we like. We write about what we do, what we think, and what we feel. To be told what to write, even for one blog, puts my back up. My rebellious nature stirs and I just say, “shan’t”.

It makes the award somewhat contradictory, don’t you think. So despite my initial thrill at receiving the nomination, I have decided to stand by my principles, ridiculous as they may be, and refuse to be told what I can write about. Many writers have been imprisoned for their work, and while I do not in any way compare myself to them, I’m just a dabbler after all, I do believe in the principal whole heartedly.

To quote Steve Biko, “I write what I like”, and I shall continue to do so, because it is one of my few freedoms. Freedom comes in many forms, and I have found mine in writing. I will not give it up for an award, so I decline the nomination, while acknowledging the generosity of the person giving it. Perhaps next time, they will give it to someone who is less difficult.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in blogging, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Be bold! Be daring! Be unique! Be forever you! Bend a few rules!

Leave a Reply

