Realtor Rage

I’ve been trying for two days to take our house off the market. The realtor (real estate agent) is arguing about it; except, according to him, he doesn’t argue…he discusses. Call it what you like, it doesn’t change the facts; he’s become a royal pain in the arse.

He has continually ‘discussed’ the negative qualities of our home, and has never gone over the positives. After two weeks without a showing, the Open House fiasco, and the lack of contact from him, I sent an e-mail asking to change the wording on the listing. Less than an hour later, he’s at my door ‘discussing’ the changes, even though I have company and I’m in the middle of a phone call. I explained my lack of interest in ‘discussing’ the matter, but on he went. It seemed like he was saying that no-one was coming to the house because the price was too high. I disagreed, and he walked off basically saying the property was a waste of space.

If that wasn’t bad enough, an hour later there was another knock on the door. It was a family who were trying to see the house, but were told there were “no showings”! OMG! I talked to the office, and sure enough they had us blocked off indefinitely. The two incidents together seemed a little strange to me, so I decided to call the whole thing off. What was the point in having the house on the market, when his office wasn’t let anyone see the place, and he was telling people it was rubbish. By the way, most people like our house. It’s a cute bungalow on almost a quarter of an acre, within walking distance of most services, including the commuter train to Toronto.

I wrote a letter asking him to take the house off the market and outlining some of our grievances; he wrote back saying we were completely wrong on all counts and could we still work together. It took me twenty-four hours to write a reply that wasn’t dripping in sarcasm, full of swearing, or a ten page treatise on what I know about marketing. For instance, I almost wrote, “thank you so much for explaining my errors to me. Could you please come over and help me tie my shoes”. Other versions are x-rated, but had Tom and I rolling with laughter.

In the end, I wrote two sentences, “our opinion is unchanged. Please take the house off the market”. That was twelve hours ago and his sign is still on the front lawn. Is anybody into vandalism?

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Friends, Home, Humour, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Realtor Rage

  1. Tom Bradley says:

    Well written, dear. There’s not enough Preparation H to make this go away…
    I hope that sign is down soon. Enough is enough.

    Tom

  2. Nancy says:

    I clicked “Like” to like your post…but it seemed wrong. So let me explain. I like what you wrote, but I’m not at all keen on what’s happening to you with your d*&! realtor. What an @$$! I thought realtors were supposed to work WITH you to sell your house so that you could move and they could make a big fat commission. Isn’t that the way it’s supposed to go? I’m sorry you’re going through such a rough time with this guy. I hope your selling experience picks up and that your house sells for above asking in a bidding war! 🙂 If you’re located in Toronto, I don’t see why it wouldn’t. My husband and I have been casually browsing the market for a home and we haven’t found anything (great house or mediocre house) that hasn’t ended in us losing a bidding war. Good luck! 😀

    • chebandbecky says:

      You’re absolute right; it is their job to get the best price, and he definitely wasn’t doing his job.

      We don’t have the bidding wars that you get in Toronto, but it’s a pretty healthy market in Mississauga.

      Thanks for your comments.

Leave a Reply

