Half Way Point

Tom and I moved Becky into her condo yesterday, and now every part of my body is in pain. Am I getting too old for this?

Anyway, this post is not about me. I can’t believe I’m writing about “Becky’s condo”. I don’t have my calendar handy but I believe we’re at the half way point on our journey to Becky’s independence. It was last November that I received the phone call that changed our lives. Becky was awarded individualized funding to support her goal to live independently. I guessed at that point that the process would take about a year.

I think we have completed about two-thirds of the work. First I hired three support workers and trained them, and now the move. The final part may take a while as we prepare Becky for her new environment, and search for an appropriate room-mate. In the meantime, here we are; new home, new life. I just wish it didn’t hurt so much….

20120512-084118.jpg

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Disability, Family, Friends, Home, Independence, Life, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Half Way Point

  1. One day at a time, one breath at a time. When I was in panic mode my sister would ask, “Are you breathing?”. Always a good starting point. Best days ahead for you and your family.

    • chebandbecky says:

      Thanks for your advice and kind words. My Mom used to say, “keep putting one foot in front of the other, and you’ll get there in the end”…so I keep plodding along. 🙂

Leave a Reply

