In Retrograde

The bad day on Monday turned into a bad week, which culminated with Becky sobbing in her bathroom as I asked an attendant to leave. I felt ill as I listened to another person belittle my daughter. I don’t know how I stayed calm as I listened to Becky through her tears, but we made it through.

I shed a few tears myself this week as I looked at my tiny bedroom, plastic milk-crate furniture, and the suitcase I am living out of. How did I end up here? There has been no freedom and no privacy. The free time I had at the house has been lost until Becky learns new safety rules.

I realized today that we are in retrograde. We are moving forwards, but we appear to be moving backwards. It is an optical illusion, but it feels quite real. I hope it is of short duration and we can soon see ourselves moving forward once again.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Disability, Family, Home, Independence, Life, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

