Yeah, for Apps!

It’s been an interesting couple of weeks.  First, the special buses, that Becky had just started using, went on strike; well, the drivers did, so no buses and I am back to my chauffeur duties.  Second, I put my back out.  I went to the house to clean out some stuff, in preparation for putting it back on the market, and rip.  I dropped everything I was doing and headed back to the condo, applied ice, took Advil, and went to bed.  I was in quite a bit of pain for a couple of days.  It’s so nice to feel like crap, and have strangers coming and going all day.  Yep.  Third, I went for a walk one night, to help my back, and came back to find Becky sitting on the floor.  Never good!  How was I going to get her off the floor?  With a bit of direction and some minor pulling and shoving, I managed to get Becky onto her bed, but why was she on the floor?  She was cleaning up broken glass.  OMG.  With her bare hands. Double OMG.  In an effort to make some popcorn, she had pulled on a glass jug which had fallen and smashed on the unforgiving ceramic tiles in the kitchen.  Miraculously, she didn’t have a scratch on her.  Still, I woke up a few times in the night with this picture of her sitting on the floor surrounded by broken glass.  Fourth, somehow, the renewal insurance forms never made it to us and now we don’t have house insurance. 

I have struggled with giving up my home, giving up my daughter, and giving up my life.  I don’t think I can manage it.  I kept crying when I went to the house.  I cried when I handed over Becky’s passport, immunization card, and drug card to her.  I don’ t have the training to teach her how to become independent, so it’s not going well.  I couldn’t seem to find a quiet moment to think and plan and organize.  By Sunday night, Becky had no clean clothes, no food, and no money.  It was a serious wake-up call. 

I spent the night tossing and turning, and came up with an idea around 4 am.  By 6 am I was ready.  I downloaded a menu planner app on my iPod.  With this, Becky was able to pick out four simple meals, decide the days she was going to make them, and generate a shopping list.  Not only that, but the recipes are included. Yeah, for apps!  We walked over to the grocery store and picked up everything she need for the week, plus she was able to get cash back; thereby killing two birds with one stone.  I have printed a weekly menu in bright colours and put it on the fridge for everyone to see.  Becky knows what she is making for dinner every night this week, and so do the staff.  If Becky makes two weekly menus, she will buy the same groceries on a regular basis, repeat the recipes, and learn by repetition.  In the winter, she can generate two new menus that suit the weather.  So far, everybody likes it.  Why did it take me so long to think of this?  I know why; it’s a rhetorical question. 

It doesn’t solve all the problems, but it has gone a long way to helping us both get back on track.  I finally feel like we are getting somewhere.  Hooray!

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Disability, Family, Home, Independence, Life, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Yeah, for Apps!

  1. Nancy says:

    Definitely yeah for apps! This all must be so hard. I’m glad you’re finding little things that make it a bit easier. I too found an app recently that has somewhat simplified my life (although, after reading your post, my life suddenly seemed so simple anyway). It’s the little things that count.

    • chebandbecky says:

      Sometimes it’s the little things that make a big difference. I guess there’s truth to that saying about acorns and mighty oaks. I’m glad to hear an app helped you out too. Maybe I’ll be able to read about it on your blog…?

      • Nancy says:

        I’m workin’ on it. Life took over this week though and I haven’t gotten around to finishing it (the post, not life).

      • chebandbecky says:

        Life-getting-in-the-way, is the reason we have so much to write about. Your readers will still be there when you’re ready. Hope everything’s okay.

  2. Karaboo says:

    I wish there was an app for hugs!!! If there was – I’d be sending you a big one right here —>

Leave a Reply

