Friday the 13th

While some people stick to the belief that Friday 13th is a bad day, I have to say that it’s been the best day I’ve had in a while.

First of all, I attained my running goal of two miles. It’s taken me a few weeks to get there. I know that’s small potatoes for marathon runners, but I’ve just turned 47 and haven’t seriously run in about eight years, so I’m happy.

Secondly, I been given a lead on a possible room-mate for Becky! Yeeoww. This has had me anxiety ridden of late. No-one, such as treatment centres, will let me pin ads up, and community agencies have been no help at all. I was pretty angry for a while, as they were the reason I was in this position. What do you do to look for a room-mate for someone who is so vulnerable? Why give us the funding if they knew we wouldn’t be able to find overnight support? Did no-one want to stay with Becky? Was she that terrible to live with? I thought I was going to be stuck in the condo forever.

I now have the name of a person who knows the situation and is interested in living here. Yippeeee! I know they probably won’t work out (although I sincerely hope they do) but someone is interested, and if there’s one, there’s two.

Thirdly, I’ve had a quiet afternoon without answering frantic phone calls or dealing with urgent paperwork. I actually got to sit down and read; a book. Ahhhhh. Bliss.

That’s my day. How was yours?

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Disability, Family, Friends, Home, Independence, Life, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Friday the 13th

  1. Michelle says:

    Hope your contact of a room mate follows through! Congrats on running 2 miles..I could not run for 2 minutes! Friday the 13th was good for me too….the last Friday at a job that I am leaving! my daughter returned home from being away for 4 days and I missed her! and yummy soup for dinner on a chilly winters night, (I am from Australia and it is winter!)

  2. Karen Woolley says:

    Hi Cheryl,
    Glad to hear you’ve had a good day today and things are looking up on the roommate front for Becky. I am totally amazed and jealous that you are running two miles. That is a great accomplishment and can be a wonderful stress reliever. Go Cheryl!,

    My love to you and Becky. It was so great to see you.

    Karen

    • chebandbecky says:

      Thanks, Karen. Yep, running is good for stress; I can always imagine I am running away. 😉

      It was great to see you too…when we finally figured out which Tim Horton’s…another blog, perhaps.

  3. Nancy says:

    Sounds like a well-deserved day. I hope everything works out with the roommate!

Leave a Reply

