Rock Bottom

Within 48 hours of our return to Canada, Becky’s two support workers had both quit. I had a phone call two days ago suggesting bad news, which I’ve had confirmed today. Becky attends an adult day program three days a week. Due to the fact that she is now receiving Individualized Funding, the day program will be increasing her fees by more than double! We can’t afford the new fees, so I will have to pull her out at the end of the month.

I’m in a bit of a daze. We have gone from six days of support each week, to zero. We’ve only been back from England a week, and I’ve asked myself every day, ‘why did we come back’?

If this isn’t quite bad enough, there are two other crises going on of a personal nature. One involves the health of a relative, and the other is the dissolution (I’m not sure if thats the right word, but I’m not thinking clearly, okay) of a relationship.

It feels like we are back at square one. Eight months wasted. Why does the Ministry give funding with one hand and remove it with another? Why do staff, that you’ve spent weeks training, decide to move on to something else?

I think it’s the bottom (I really hope it’s the bottom) so the only way forward, is up.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Disability, Family, Home, Independence, Life, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rock Bottom

  1. Andrew Kellman says:

    You and Becky are strong enough to pull through this Cheryl. Things always have a awy of working themselves out for the best. Glad to here your trip to England was a good time.

  2. sarahjese says:

    Sorry to hear that you are going through this – wish California was closer or that there was some way I could ease your burden. All I can think of to say is , “It could be worse – sometimes I am not exactly sure how – but it could always be worse!” Is there a way to negotiate with the day program so that you at least get some type of break?

    • chebandbecky says:

      Thanks for your offer of help, Sarah. I really appreciate it.

      The big problem with the day program, is that you pay whether the person attends or not, so if Becky is sick, at appointments, or anything else, I have to pay a support worker and pay the day program. Ouch! It will be too expensive to carry on this way once they increase the fees. I’m already thinking of some new ideas.

Leave a Reply

