Dear Santa

Dear Santa,

I am not a person who likes routine. I never wanted a nine to five job, or any sort of job that was the same day after day. My life with Becky has never been routine and jobs have been varied and fun; sign writer, electricians assistant for a crane company, and eventually running my own landscape design business. I tell you this to prepare you for my next statement, “I would like some routine in my life”!

I wake up and don’t know where I am, I drop Becky off, or pick her up, and I can’t figure out where I’m going next. I go to write cheques, but they’re at the other place; change the bed sheets, but the clean ones at the other place; food, other place, certain clothes , you guessed it. I don’t know where I’m sleeping that night. I pack at a moments notice and try to remember everything we need.

I seem to spend large amounts of time looking for things that aren’t there. I squeeze my brain to try and remember where items are. I write lists, and then write lists of my lists, to try and keep everything straight. Ha, ha.

Becky and I have been doing the pinball existence for three months now, and expect another four to six weeks of this before the condo is ready for resettlement. So, I find myself wishing for it to come sooner, to hurry up, so we will, at last, be in one spot, mostly, and can, here it comes, get back into a routine. Phew. That feels better.

For all those people that may dislike their mundane, hum drum life, let me tell you; enjoy it. It is much, much easier to live that way; it saves time and energy. It is not a bad life. Neither is ours, but I think at this point, I may consider that the grass may look a little greener somewhere else.

So, dear Santa, could you send me this one thing, it’s all I really want; a bit of routine, some stability, a little less chaos, please, if you could. Many thanks. Hugs and kisses,

Cheryl

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in chaos, Christmas, Disability, Family, Humour, Life, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dear Santa

  1. Tom Bradley says:

    You still write so well…impressive that you can make routine sound exotic and desirable…nicely done.

  2. Eveline Kellman says:

    Cheryl, You are making progress even though it may not be apparent, keep chugging, life takes some odd twists and turns some good some not so good Keep on you are on the right path E.K

  3. Nancy says:

    I’ve never liked routine either. And now, despite having some sort of routine in my life (because I learned the hard way that kids require routine to behave properly), I still crave a bit of chaos. And I actually function better when there is an upset in our routine. However, I have experienced the advantages of routine. Like you said, “it saves time and energy”. And I appreciate routine now, for what it’s worth. Here’s hoping Santa brings you what you want for Christmas. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

