20 Year Anniversary

Today is the twentieth anniversary of the car accident that changed our lives forever. A few seconds in a southern Ontario winter storm, and there was suddenly no going back to the lives we had led. I don’t usually think about it, but this is such a huge milestone that I thought it deserved a comment.

At the time, it didn’t appear that my daughter, Becky, would survive, and yet she has grown to adulthood. We were told that she would likely be in a vegetative state, but she us now taking steps towards her independence. We were told that she wouldn’t move her left side or learn to read, but she achieved both.

I am always grateful that Becky survived, and I cannot imagine a life without her. She has proven most of the doctors wrong, and inspired me to be the best person I can be. She has brought laughter and joy to so many people over the last two decades, that I think she makes the world a better place just be being here.

The anniversary is a happy one. I will not be sad and think about, ‘what if’. Instead, I think, ‘Wow. We made it this far’.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Disability, Family, Life, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 20 Year Anniversary

  1. Deana says:

    What a mile stone. Yes, it deserves to be acknowledged. And wow is right. From reading your blog, I know she’s come a long way. It sounds like she has incredible resolve and inner strength, as do you. Thanks for sharing this. Milestones are important.

  2. What a wonderful way to view things. The fact that you can see this as a day to celebrate is inspiring himself.

  3. Eveline Kellman says:

    I remeber that time 20 years ago and could not help but feel a mixture of sadnes and joy and how Becky has progressed. I do remeber how spirited she was even bfore the even, the last time I saw her was when I was moving and she came with her Dad when I was moving into a new place. How she was so happy to visit and bossed us all around. Do you remeber how she bossed her cousins around when she came to visit, she would push them out of her way than smile her angelic smil as if to say “Arn’t you glad Iam here”. It was indicitative of the fact she was not going to be a shinking violet. A spirit that has carried her through. I know everyone was rembering her a few days ago when Sierra was hit at the school crossing along with the guard and her Dad’ Andrew’ witnessedit. However, she is another little girl with a will and spirit of her own. Keep on you have done wel and will continue to do so. Eveline Kellman

    • chebandbecky says:

      Yep, she was bossy alright. I have a photo of her fighting over a toy stroller with her cousin in England when she was three. Her fighting spirit has kept her going and been her strength.

      Our thoughts and prayers are with all the other family members who are recovering from accidents. There are way too many this year.

Leave a Reply

