Art in the Family

I have always loved art. I spent most of my childhood with crayons and paper. As I grew older, I took some classes in England, and finally attained a degree in Fine Art in the nineties. Life has been in the way for most of the last two decades, but I always made room to visit special exhibitions in Toronto. Whenever we were away somewhere, I’d take Becky to the local gallery and talk about the displays. She’s been to the National Gallery in London and the Louvre in Paris, to name two. Imagine my delight when I found out she was taking an art course through her day program. These paintings are the result.

20121217-072703.jpg

20121217-072721.jpg

20121217-072734.jpg

20121217-072746.jpg
We have two of them hanging up already. I’m so proud of her! I absolutely love them. In fact, it has moved me to try drawing again. I broke down and bought a sketch pad recently. It is difficult after so many years. My fingers and brain are rusty. I make so many errors, I think there will be nothing but chicken scratchings left. Anyway, here are my two efforts; both portraits of Frida Kahlo.

20121217-073241.jpg

20121217-073251.jpg
It is wonderful to have art in the house again, and even better to have my daughter share in the joy.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Art, Disability, Family, Life, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Art in the Family

  1. Karaboo says:

    I love Becky’s paintings! The yellow bird is very beautiful to me. I would proudly hang it in my house – she should be very proud!

    Your drawings are pretty awesome too (way better than anything I could even think about doing), but I really like Becky’s. 🙂

  2. These are beautiful! Thanks for sharing. I’d love the one of the yellow bird gracing my living room. I’ve also taken up an art course (drawing techniques) after years of neglect and I’m having a great time. Its an extra challenge for me as its in German – I sometimes blog about it.

    • chebandbecky says:

      The yellow bird is my favourite too.

      I’m glad to hear you are enjoying your art course. I’m sure it’s challenging in another language. When I tried to draw again, I am surprised how much I’d forgotten!

      Becky and I enjoy being creative and it sounds like you do too. Good luck with rest of the course. I’ll be checking to see if you’ve posted any art work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

