A Good Start to the Year

I’m sure you can sense the sarcasm in the title of this post. It didn’t take long for life to hit the Chaos Highway with no exits in sight.

I took the van in yesterday morning for repairs at our local garage. For new readers, the van is modified for wheelchair access, and seems to need a lot of repairs. After several phone calls, they had diagnosed the problems and got the go-ahead for the really expensive repairs. Even though it was midday, at this point, they expected the repairs to be completed that day. When the phone rang at 4 pm, I thought I would hear that the van was ready to be picked up. Nope. The bolts were so rusted, the mechanic couldn’t get them off, so they needed to leave them soaking in oil overnight. Okay, that meant that Becky had to stay home the next day instead of going to her day program. No big deal.

Becky was downloading some shows onto her computer at that time. The downloads stopped. I tried logging on to the Internet with my iPod and laptop, and neither worked. I rebooted the modem. Nothing. I rebooted the modem again. Nothing. I rebooted my computer. Big mistake. The laptop wouldn’t boot up. I tried and tried to get something to work, becoming slightly frazzled and extremely frustrated. So at 5 pm last night; no vehicle, no computer, and no Internet.

It gets better. A phone call from the garage informed me this morning that a bolt snapped, and it’s part of the modifications, so they will have to order a new one from the manufacturer; Braun, in Indiana. It will take two to three business days to get here. That puts us into Tuesday, a week later. Of course the van is in pieces and can’t be moved, so we don’t have a vehicle for another five days.

What can you do but laugh? At least the weather is good and I can walk to stores for essentials like wine food. The Internet is also back on, so thats one out of three problems solved. Oh well, it will all get sorted, and we will be none the worse for wear, I dare say.

How is your new year starting out?

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Car, chaos, Computers, Disability, Family, Life, parenting, Repairs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

