For Want Of A Nail…

…the battle was lost, or in our case; for want of a bolt, the van was lost.

I’m hoping it doesn’t reach that point, but there are major difficulties locating a replacement part for the van. The manufacturer of the van’s wheelchair modifications, Braun, sent the part earlier in the week. Unfortunately, it didn’t fit. They either forgot or didn’t realize (huh?) that they have changed the modifications over the years, and now the parts don’t fit the older models. The van is only nine years old; hardly a clunker.

Anyhoo, the garage is on a mission to find a replacement part, but no luck so far. On day eight of our forced confinement, we rented a car for a day, so I could take my computer in for repairs, and Becky and I could go shopping for a new fridge. Exciting stuff! It was exciting after looking at four walls and each other for over a week. The fridge took about fifteen minutes to locate, check on its availability, and arrange for delivery. It arrives tomorrow. Yeah! Becky and I spent this afternoon cleaning the broken one out. Open cat food without a week of refrigeration can take your eyelashes and eyebrows off. Phewww. I think I saw the yogurt breathing. It was an unhealthy shade of blue, and much too furry.

With the van repair time extended indefinitely, I’ve also arranged to borrow a van off Becky’s Dad. We haven’t quite figured out the logistics of getting it here from Guelph, and getting Becky’s Dad back to the same place. Small details.

I’m just happy to be sorting some things out. It was so hard to sit and wait for a week, not knowing what the outcome was going to be. Moving forwards or moving sideways, I don’t care as long as we are moving, and the general direction is not backwards.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Car, chaos, Computers, Disability, Family, Humour, Life, parenting, Repairs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to For Want Of A Nail…

  1. SarahJese says:

    Have you all checked on eBay, Amazon, and/or Google? I have had good luck finding hardware on them for various and sundry items – just found hinges for a desk that is over 50 y/o. eBay even has an automotive section. Other thought is to check with a junkyard for cars – much of it is computerized now and maybe there is a van with the same unit that was totalled out recently – too bad my father is ill as he was the greatest at finding exact replacement parts for the strangest things. I am in California and if you want to email me the specs for the unit off line I would be happy to see what I can find down here.

    Glad to hear that your spirits seem to be rebounding and that the refrigerator was easy to replace – reminder to me that I do need to get the one here replaced soon as it is over 15 years old and has been cycling way too often lately.

    • chebandbecky says:

      I don’t actually know what the part looks like. The garage has been doing all the leg work so far. I’ll definitely pass on all your ideas and will contact you if we are still stuck in a couple of weeks.

      Thanks for your help and your generous offer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

