Two Out Of Three

The fridge arrived and so did Becky’s Dad with his van. My laptop is still in for service, but two out of three, so the saying goes, ain’t bad.

In celebration, Becky and I decided to go out for dinner; just because we could. After shuffling seats in the van, and figuring out strap-downs, we were off. We even found a parking spot outside the restaurant. Door open, ramp down, Becky out, ramp up, door close, door close. The power door wouldn’t close. I shouted to Becky to wait up as she wheeled away. I put the ramp back out and tried closing it all up again. The ramp worked perfectly, the door disobeyed. I tried pulling on it. It was really jammed. “Becky”, I shouted again, but she had ignored me and gone into the restaurant.

I tried everything a couple more times and finally left the van with the side door open and ran into the restaurant to fetch Becky. She looked very comfortable at her table. I explained that I couldn’t close the van, so I couldn’t come in the restaurant. “Oh”, she said. Off we trundled out into the cold. At this point I was wondering how we were going to get home, as I can’t drive with the side door open, so I called Becky’s Dad. No answer.

I realized I was probably running the battery down with the automatic ramp, so I asked Becky to sit inside the vehicle while I switched the van on. I was still trying the door by power, manual, and the occasional kick. A very gentle one, if Becky’s Dad reads this. I was pulling and pushing it, and trying to see if I could time it when the power clicked on, but no, nothing. I climbed inside to think. I was feeling pretty upset at the idea of another van breakdown when there is a knock on the drivers window, where I happened to be sitting. It is dark, I’m in an unfamiliar vehicle, and I can’t find interior lights, or the buttons for windows.

A lady asks me if I’m leaving because…and then my phone rings. I really want to answer the phone, but this lady is babbling on about the parking space. I start telling her that I’m stuck, as I climb out the van. She is still there. I want to tell her to back off as I’m kind of busy, but politeness prevails, and I ask her to give me a minute as I fumble with the phone in the dark. I miss the call, and it was Becky’s Dad. I try to call back, but I’m so blind without my reading glasses that, quite honestly, I don’t know what I’m doing. Luckily, there is another call; Becky’s Dad.

I tell him about the door. Have I tried pulling the door. Yes. Have I tried pulling the handle away and then pulling the door. Yes. Have I tried pulling the door open further and then closing it. Noooo. It was like a hot knife through butter. I could not believe how easily the door closed. I started to laugh. What a relief. Thank goodness. I tried the door a couple more times to make sure I had it figured out. “Okay, Becky. We can finally get something to eat”! I said.

She wheeled off at top speed into the restaurant, leaving me behind. I guess she was hungry.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Car, chaos, Disability, Family, Humour, Life, parenting, Repairs, wheelchair and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Two Out Of Three

  1. Karaboo says:

    Vehicle malfunctions are always better discussed after a full belly!

    I’m so glad it finally worked properly for you – even if it was frustrating to begin with….

  2. Eveline KELLMAN says:

    Amazing how Becky can go when she is hungry. Thanks heaven’s her Dad was able to phone her so quickly. Guess being named after the patron saint of mother’s has had some effect on him. I was also relieved to know he wasn’t in some country there has has been kidnapping and hostage taking! Keep chugging, life will eventually come right.Eveline Kellman

    Date: Sun, 20 Jan 2013 02:32:28 +0000 To: e__kellman@sympatico.ca

  3. SarahJese says:

    Not sure which is worse: that you are quoting the wisdom of Meatloaf in “Two Out of Three Ain’t Bad” or that I get said reference.

  4. SarahJese says:

    Seriously though, glad 2 out of three are better, with third on it’s way. I have been tied up with paperwork, investments, etc for establishing my father’s trust and am seriously ready to scream. Your adventures with Becky have helped me to keep on keeoing on with him over the last almost 3 years – you give me hope, only one of the most important things in life.

    • chebandbecky says:

      That’s a tough job you have. There’s a lot of responsibility on your shoulders. Hope is really important, and I’m so glad I was able to pass some on to you. Best Wishes. Cheryl

  5. I wonder if Becky and I have the same kind of van. Mine’s a Dodge with a Braun Conversion. I live in CT where it’s a bit warmer. So far, fingers crossed, it hasn’t gotten that stuck. You are a GOOD friend.

  6. What a wonderful post! I sometimes wonder about all the challenges I face on crutches, let alone what life will be like when I am in a chair. India is a marvelous place to visit, and more often than not people try to make my life work when I am here. Yet, there are many barriers for anyone who is disabled. There is also an openness to conversations about disability, if not about accommodations. Earlier today my glasses broke, which left me stranded. The manager at the guest house where we are staying took my glasses to the shop and had them repaired, returning shortly after he left with a broad grin. He then asked about my limp. I explained about Polio. He said I did not look so bad. I laughed and informed him that my body is a bit of a train wreck, in spite of which I am very fond of it. He responded by showing me the scars remaining post knee surgery. I laughed and showed him the scars from my femur reconstruction. (I actually set off the alarm in the airport a few days ago! The security people could not figure out why, till I showed them the scars and told them about the metal.)

    And yes, there are rude people here.

    • chebandbecky says:

      What a great comment! Thanks for your stories. I am really interested in a trip to India, so I read your blog with great interest to see how feasible it might be to take Becky in a chair. Of course there are always challenges once you are out of your home environment, but that is part of the experience of traveling. How else do we see the rest of the world?

Leave a Reply

