Memories Of Arizona

Waffles and Strawberries

Waffles and Strawberries

The only place that Becky and I have eaten waffles, is Arizona.  I don’t know why; I’m sure they make waffles in other parts of the country or even in other parts of the world, but for some reason, that’s the only place we’ve eaten them.  Every hotel has a make-your-own waffle area for breakfast.  The waffle maker has a timer and has to be turned when it pings.  It produces waffles the size of dinner plates.  We always shared one between us.  There was always lots of fresh fruit available, presumably from neighbouring California and Mexico.  Fresh fruit and waffles for breakfast, how decadent.

I’ve thought about buying a waffle maker on several occasions, but always talked myself out of it.  I mean, I was setting myself up for a calorific disaster, and how often was I going to make the things anyway.  This week, Becky and I found a waffle maker that had removable plates, so it could be turned into a grill or a sandwich maker as well. What a great idea, then you could tell yourself that you were not just buying it to make waffles, right. We had to buy it, and today, we had to try it.  This is the first time I’ve ever made waffles in my life.  A lot of firsts this week.

As you can see, it worked rather well, and taste tests from consumers were positive.  It was a bonus that the strawberries were just starting to arrive from California.  We will definitely be trying this again as we plod our way through the remnants of winter, and fondly remember our times in Arizona…

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Family, Home, parenting, Travel, winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Memories Of Arizona

  1. Rob Moses says:

    I am going to make that tomorrow morning! 😀

  2. That looks like summer on a plate! Yum!!

  3. YUM!!! Now try them with whipped cream + any sweet berry you can think of.

Leave a Reply

