Lake Aquitaine

Turtle Crossing - Lake Aquitaine

Turtle Crossing – Lake Aquitaine

I went for a walk this morning around Lake Aquitaine.  It’s one of the many parks in Mississauga that you can’t see from the road.  They are hidden surprises, and can only be found by walking.

Colours of Winter

Colours of Winter

It was pretty cold around the lake.  By the time I was half way round, my fingers were in agony.

Reeds

Reeds

I now have a true appreciation of the photographers that spend hours outside in the winter trying to catch that perfect shot.  How your fingers survive, I’ll never know.

Cardinal

Cardinal

I’m so happy, I finally got my bird shot, which I’ve been trying to get for weeks.  Talk about patience…

Benches

Benches

In the summer, this area is used for fishing.  No fishermen today.

Like most of Mississauga, the trails and fishing area are all wheelchair accessible.  Becky  has been here with me in the summer.  This is the first time I’ve walked here in the winter.  The trail around Lake Aquitaine is connected to trails leading to Lake Wabukayne.  It’s another really pretty area to walk around in the summer.  Maybe I’ll try that trail another day.

 

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Canada, Family, Life, Photos, wheelchair, winter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Lake Aquitaine

  1. Those pics are gorgeous! Especially the cardinal!

  2. Karaboo says:

    I love these shots!!! Winter pictures always leave me feeling so calm – even if I am very thankful I don’t have to experience them very often where I live! 🙂

    Hope your fingers thaw out soon!

  3. dashingmetro says:

    Very nice shots.

  4. What a fantastic pic of the cardinal – you should enter that into a contest – it’s absolutely perfect!

    • chebandbecky says:

      You’re very kind. I was trying to take pictures of a chickadee when I noticed the cardinal in the bush. Luckily, he didn’t notice me and I was able to get a couple of shots before he moved. 🙂

  5. arjun bagga says:

    The bird and benches shot are outstanding.

Leave a Reply

