Today Is Cancelled

Snow Storm

Snow Storm

I expected the attendant care to cancel this morning, but when I hadn’t heard anything by 8:50 am, I realized that I had to start shoveling the driveway to make a space for their vehicle.  As I was digging out the bottom of the driveway, our 79 year-old neighbour pulled up to say, “Hello”.

“How did you get out of your driveway”, I asked?

“Oh, I’ve shoveled already.  I’m going for a coffee”, she answered.  Wow.

She’s about five foot nothing and weighs 100 lbs/7 stone.  I would have felt ashamed if it wasn’t for the fact that none of my other neighbours had opened their front doors yet.  After shoveling for half an hour, and barely managing to clear half the driveway, I started to think that the attendant wasn’t coming.  I would need to save my energy if I had to complete Becky’s personal care as well.  I went inside to call the agency.  A person I didn’t recognize answered.  She asked who was I calling about, so I gave her Becky’s name.  “Oh,”, she said, “you’re on my list of people to call”.  How long is the list if you haven’t got to me by 9:30, I wondered? Excellent, attendant care was cancelled.  The nursing agency had no office staff and no support workers.

I cleaned Becky up and had a break.  I checked on the news, and all the schools and universities were closed.  That’s pretty unusual.  They hardly ever close universities, and schools generally stay open but the buses get cancelled.  Then I had an e-mail from the City of Mississauga…all facilities were closed from 11 am.  Crikey.  This was getting serious.

I went out to shovel again.  I had to redo the bit I’d already done!  I was going to be sore in the morning.  Actually, I’m pretty sore already.

Here’s some pictures of our van during the day.

Van partially covered in snow

Van partially covered in snow

This was at 11 am.

Van almost completely covered in snow

Van almost completely covered in snow

This was at 4 pm, and it’s still snowing.  I still have to finish shoveling the driveway, which is under a foot of snow, at least, and then clean off the van.  Wahhh.  My back is already aching.

It’s pretty sad when a 79 year-old lady has got you beat!

 

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Canada, Car, chaos, Disability, Home, Life, parenting, winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Today Is Cancelled

  1. No worries! You already got me beat! I’m just leaving work now…to the mess sitting in my driveway. But I do have a car shelter so I guess it will make a different..
    Work hard! We all get to exercise our awesome muscles 😉

  2. I miss a lot of things about living up north – but massive amounts of snow isn’t one of them. Sorry you’re having to put up with that mess!

    Spashionista (Alicia)

    • chebandbecky says:

      We try and spend some time down south each winter, but because of the delays with the bathroom renovation, we haven’t been able to go anywhere. Today I think i shoveled for almost 3 hours in total. I am so sore!!! The wine is helping. 🙂

  3. Wow! That’s SOME snow!

  4. That is some crazy snow!!

    It was glorious and sunny here and the temperature was hovering around ZERO.

    It makes you realize just how vast our country really is!

    Take it easy with all that shovelling and make sure your chocolate supplied is topped up!

  5. crystalruns says:

    I know how you feel! My grandma is 80 and has me beat in everything! She cooks, cleans, and works out before I am even out of bed!

  6. icelandpenny says:

    Thanks for liking my latest post… and yes, I can relate to this one of yours!

  7. I hope you and yours are safe and warm!

  8. We usually get a lot of snow over the winter. Last year we had very little. This year we had a bit more. Anyway, we contract with someone who comes in a truck and clears our short, but very steep, driveway. We are so appreciative when we have a heavy six inch snowfall and the city snow plows fill the end of our drive with feet of snow. When there is a foot of snow, or three feet, so much the better. We decided years ago the cost was worth it. I am forbidden from shoveling by my Post-Polio doc, so all the work falls on my wife. Better to use a truck, then clean up the remains.

    • chebandbecky says:

      You’re right, snow removal is a worthwhile expense. We really weren’t expecting to be at the house during the winter, but with the bathroom renovation at the condo, we couldn’t really stay there. Oh well, spring can’t be too far away…I hope.

Leave a Reply

