Just in case…

…you thought things were running smoothly, that everything was hunky dorey, I thought I’d write a quick post to say, “no, that’s not true”.

Becky has been battling pressure sores since the third week of December. The cold weather makes her extremities swell, her feet push against the hard plastic splints she wears, and ‘Hey Presto’ a pressure sore. They take weeks to heal and then it’s a very long, tedious process to get the feet used to the splints again. I think she has only managed to wear the left splint for 3 days this year. There was another red spot this morning, sigh.

Going from hot to cold also causes other problems, and Becky developed an area of skin breakdown earlier this week. She spent Tuesday in bed. Luckily this problem heals much faster than the pressure sores, so it is almost back to normal.

I wrenched my back yesterday. I was pulling gallon paint cans out of the van, to take to the condo, and I reached and twisted, and tore. I couldn’t stand straight yesterday and spent most of the day in pain, scrunched up like a pair of scissors. I know, the Valentines post was so positive, right. I’m still in pain today, but am standing a little taller; however I now have this lean to the right, so I look like a human Tower of Pisa. Very strange.

So if you thought life was a bed of roses, that the river of chaos had been diverted, that the stars were in alignment; think again. We always struggle with health issues; mainly Becky, but occasionally me too. So when we are remotely healthy, we go out and enjoy life. There will always be bad days, there will always be issues, it’s just better if we focus on all the fun things life has to offer. We can choose to moan and whine, or we can choose to go out and live. We choose life!

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in chaos, Disability, Family, Life, parenting, winter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Just in case…

  1. redpeffer says:

    I know sometimes it must be so hard, but your positivity is lovely. Best wishes to you both.

  2. I appreciate your candor about Becky’s and your health. I barely know you but I can relate to you “fighting the good fight” when some days you just want to wave the white flag. Just remember hard work eventually pays off. Torn muscles can be stretched and worked to heal stronger. My hubby is currently having some serious back issues, too, so I understand you feel like you have to be well enough to be the caretaker. You have my admiration. Tell Becky I smile when I think of the good things in life that are ahead for her.

    Spashionista (Alicia)

    • chebandbecky says:

      Thanks Alicia, Ill let Becky know.

      I used to be terrified of breaking a bone or needing surgery. Who would take care of Becky? It’s not so bad now. I think we could probably sort it out, but I’d rather not test that theory. It’s nice to know that someone understands.

      My back will be fine. It goes about once a year. It’s uncomfortable (agony) for a few days and then sorts itself out. It’s one of the realities, same as Becky’s feet and pressure sores. It doesn’t stop us from eating chocolate and enjoying a good movie.

  3. Nancy says:

    I’m so sorry to hear things are so rough for you guys right now. Hang in there. I’m setting good thoughts your way.

    • chebandbecky says:

      Hey Nancy,
      Can’t wait for spring. Sore back and it’s snowing again. Wahhh…Hope you’re laughing. 🙂

      • Nancy says:

        I feel your pain. I saw the snow this afternoon/evening (which, by the way, ruined my date night with hubby) and all I could think of was how badly my body ached just over a week ago with that last snow storm and all the shoveling I did. I hope your back feels better soon. 🙂

      • chebandbecky says:

        Awww, that’s too bad about your date. I hope you can reschedule. This seems like a l-o-o-o-o-o-ng winter. The best cure for a sore back; a hot bath, a glass of wine and watch a romantic comedy. I might skip the bath…

        Seriously, it feels a LOT better that it did the last two days. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

