What Day Is It?

Becky was up before her alarm this morning, which is very unusual. “You’re up early”, I said. “It’s Thursday”, she replied.

“No. Today’s Friday. You were at your day program yesterday. Remember?”

Silence.

Due to memory problems we have calendars hung up in most rooms, and Becky has to have an alarm clock to wake her on time. There’s only one day in the week that we don’t have to get up, and she worries about oversleeping. I’m not the swiftest in the morning, so I went and checked Becky’s clock incase I had made a mistake. No, I had set it for 8 a.m. and it was only 7:15.

“It’s definitely Thursday”, she said, “because yesterday A came in the morning to do my shower”. That was Wednesday, but I didn’t say anything. What do you say to a person who has a whole day missing from their memory?

I had breakfast and wondered what to say. Twenty minutes later Becky shouts, “It’s Friday”! She had finally remembered. Thank goodness. I guess some mornings she really needs that cup of coffee.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in chaos, Disability, Family, Life, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to What Day Is It?

  1. Eveline KELLMAN says:

    It seems to me that Becky has inherited her grandmother’s lack of memory regarding which day it is. It can be very confusing when a person has no work to go to each day. I have to mark everything on my calendar, check it each evening and put a not to myself on my breakfast tray for the next day. Winter can be a really difficult time especially when it is cold and snowing outside. Have to go to wash my morning dishes before I forget to do those also. Enjoy the weekend. Ev

  2. arjun bagga says:

    Happy to meet you.
    Warm Regards
    Arjun

  3. Spashionista says:

    I’m a creature of habit so if my routine is disrupted it’s easy for me to forget what day it is. In fact, I can’t believe it’s March already!

    Spashionista (Alicia)

  4. Mike10613 says:

    Hi Cheryl,

    I never know what day it is. I have a different subject for my blogs and if I’m in front and scheduling them, I get really confused. I was writing a psychology blog on a Saturday to publish on Monday and for the rest of the day I thought it was Monday! I think I need a life style that includes something different at weekends, but apart from Sunday outings and visitors not much changes even at weekends.

    The sun’s shining in England now. I shall be exploring with my camera tomorrow. I probably won’t get much farther than West Bromwich, but that’s exotic these days! 🙂

    • chebandbecky says:

      LOL. Thanks for sharing, Mike.

      Photos of West Bromwich…looking forward to seeing those. I haven’t been in twenty years, and then it was only to visit a pub that had Banks’ on tap.

  5. Thanks for liking our blog!
    Yours is really neat. I especially love your tagline at the top! 🙂
    God bless!

  6. SarahJese says:

    I always know what day it is but never the date – people used to laugh at me because as a medical social worker reality orientation is part of the job!

  7. andrewvokes says:

    I guess we all have days like this!

  8. redpeffer says:

    It’s true, I’m a creature of routine although simultaneously frustrated by this! I often ‘lose’ a day if things change significantly from my usual routine. I am easily distracted too-went out and left the front door open again yesterday-second time I’ve done this. Can’t believe I managed to do it again, and by open, I mean literally swinging open not just ‘on the latch’……

    • chebandbecky says:

      Thanks for sharing. 🙂 It sounds like you are in good company with memory problems. The open front door might be a bit of a problem. Maybe you need one of those devices that closes the door automatically. You can get automatic locks too, but then you’d have to remember your keys. :-/

  9. gwilsonfans says:

    Sorry about your daughter. Thanks for sharing. I have to write down a grocery list when I buy groceries because I forget half of what I went to the store to buy. I used to be able to go grocery shopping without a list.

Leave a Reply

