March is the Start of Spring

Witchazel

 

It’s March, and here, at last, is our first sign of spring. My witch-hazel (Hamamelis virginiana) is in bloom. It’s such a contrast to the snow; so cheerful and bright. Other things to celebrate this month are, Tim Horton’s Roll up the Rim contest, maple syrup, and the vernal equinox. There will be Maple Syrup Festivals running throughout Ontario and Quebec this month as the sap starts rising in the Maple trees. We have a Festival up at a local museum, Bradley House Museum, which is about two miles away. Maple taffy, Maple pancakes, Maple fudge, Maple everything, yum!

Witch-hazel detail

 

Becky and I went to the condo yesterday. Everything is grey with dust. It’s going to take weeks for it all to settle, I’m sure. The bathroom has been painted, and it looks like they are ready to start tiling the floor. After running some errands, we came back to the house and I baked my first ever cheesecake.

Cherry Cheesecake

 

I was inspired by a wonderful dinner I had at a friend’s house last weekend. She had baked a cheesecake and covered it with sour cream and blueberries. It was so good, that I decided to have a go myself. I couldn’t believe how easy it was. Throw everything in the blender, pour it into the pie crust and bake. I must say, it was worth it just for the aroma that filled the kitchen. Can’t wait to try it!

Hope your weekend was as good as ours.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Home, Life, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to March is the Start of Spring

  1. Yum! That looks delicious! Enjoy 🙂

  2. Ann Kilter says:

    Yea! Spring is coming. I saw crocuses starting to poke through the snow! That looks delicious.

    • chebandbecky says:

      Any colour other than white looks so beautiful right now. Plus the days are longer and the sun has a little warmth in it. Ahhh, Spring. 🙂

      The cheesecake was/is good. I used goat cheese instead of cream cheese. Yum.

  3. So ready for spring! fun post.

  4. Do you have the recipe for the cheese cake? I just bought a blueberry bush to plant in the garden. It is the end of summer in Australia. Just going into Autumn. No snow where we live. The cool months are lovely here but they do not last long.

Leave a Reply

