Leftovers

I had some fabric left from my dining chair makeover a couple of weeks ago, so I decided to make a couple of cushion covers for two sad cushions I had. They didn’t have removable covers, so I couldn’t wash them. A few years of grime had accrued and they weren’t looking pretty.

I pulled out Ye Olde Sewing Machine, and had to clean it before I did anything else. To show you how old it is, I bought it from Consumers Distributing! How long ago did that fold; twenty years? I have moved the machine from place to place, but haven’t used it since Becky was really little.

I remembered how to put thread on the bobbin and set it up, but I couldn’t remember what the two dials were for. I did a couple of trial runs. The thread snapped, and then I remembered; tension. I loosened the tension and the stitches looked much better. The other dial is for stitch spacing. I was ready. I sewed the first piece. Hmm, a bit wonky. Then I remembered to pin the fabric, duh. Bit by bit, it all came back. The nervousness left and concentration took over. I can’t believe I used to make my own clothes. What life was that?

Anyway, here is the first cushion cover.

20130319-122431.jpg
The fabric matches cushions I already have. This is where the second cushion will go.

20130319-122601.jpg
I didn’t have the zipper foot for the machine, so I did a little fold over with a button.

20130319-122705.jpg
The buttonhole was tricky. Lots to remember and adjust. I’m quite pleased with the cover for a first attempt, and I just love the fabric.

I remember writing last year, wondering what I was going to do to fill my time. Searching on the Internet for hobbies and so on. As it happened, I didn’t have much free time last year, but this year seems to be going a little better. And as so often happens, things have a way of sorting themselves out. I didn’t need to look for new hobbies, I just needed time to remember my old ones. So much fun. 🙂

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Humour, Life, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

