Easter Weekend

We’re having our Easter dinner today, Saturday, because it was the only day available. Yesterday, Good Friday, was a holiday here in Canada, so Becky and I went up to the condo thinking that there wouldn’t be anyone working there. Wrong. One of the crew was there cleaning up, so Becky and I pitched in to speed things up. The reason the renovation is dragging on is because they’re having trouble with the doorway and the threshold to the bathroom. Oh well, it takes as long as it takes. After a long dust filled afternoon, we came back to house, and surprisingly, neither one of us was hungry. So I didn’t cook yesterday.

Becky talked to her Dad and they set up a lunch date on Sunday, Easter Sunday. Oh. Monday is not a holiday for us, so we were left with today, Saturday, for our Easter together. We had a lot of running around to do this morning, so I picked up lunch while we were out.

As soon as we arrived home, our neighbour from across the road brought us some goodies.

20130330-173037.jpg
She called them Bunny Bums. I won’t tell you what she called this

20130330-173150.jpg
But it wasn’t Easter Bark. Both were delicious.

The weather was gorgeous so I went for a walk.

20130330-173415.jpg

20130330-173438.jpg

20130330-173456.jpg
When I came back I started dinner.

20130330-173626.jpg
It’s braised ham with mushroom stuffing from Julia Child’s famous cookbook. The veggies are at the bottom cooking in the wine. After Becky and I enjoy a nice meal together, I’ve got a lovely book to read this evening. I found it in the library this morning. I was inspired by some posts by a friend who’s visiting Madrid at the moment.

20130330-174035.jpg
While Becky is watching her movies, I plan on pouring a nice glass of wine, serving a plate of cheeses and flatbreads, and doing a little armchair traveling. Ah, Spain…

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Canada, Family, Life, renovation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Easter Weekend

  1. Getting hungry reading that. In the mood for a cheese platter now, the problem is that its 7 AM here!
    Glad you had a good day together

  2. Hej from Sweden!
    Sounds like how life was like with my daughter when she was younger. It was fun to have the freedom to have dinner when we wanted and ate what we wanted.
    You have really nice neighbors to make and bring you two such lovely treats. I hope they were as delicious as they look. I hope your Easter dinner was as yummy as it looked. We had lamb and I posted photos on my blog,
    My daughter and I both love cooking and have tons of cookbooks. In fact we have several books by the author Claudia Rhodin who wrote your Spanish cookbook! She’s wonderful! Enjoy.
    I really enjoy your blog. It’s beautifully written and thank you for sharing your experiences, the good and the bad .
    I will be back and kissed to Becky!

    • chebandbecky says:

      Thanks for your comment and great feedback.

      We do have great neighbours. Easter was really nice this year.

      I really like the cookbook. Its beautiful, and the recipes are great. I made one of the soups this week. It was delicious! I’ll look out for the other ones she wrote. Thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

