Best Day Ever?

I got an e-mail message today telling me that the bathroom renovation was complete!  Yippee.  Becky and I headed over to the condo after lunch to take a look.  Here are the “Before” pictures.

experiments 022 experiments 023 experiments 024 Bathroom reno - before

The tiling was hideous, a large threshold blocked access to the shower, and the bathroom door wouldn’t close.

Today…

Bathroom reno - after

we have a beautiful bathroom.

April 3 008

with wheel-in shower,

April 3 009

adjustable hand-held shower,

April 3 010

and barrier free access.  The bathroom door even closes.  Becky will be able to take a stress free shower in a couple of days.  The only thing that hasn’t been completed is the bathroom threshold.

bathroom reno - threshold

The contractor wants it to look nice, so he is searching for a piece of matching hardwood flooring.  As if that wasn’t exciting enough, my new fireplace arrived today too.  It is replacing a wood stove that I disconnected last summer due to insurance difficulties…that and I hated it…dirty, smokey, horrible thing.  I think I used it maybe ten times in six years.  It was in the basement, very North American, where I have my television.

Winter 032

This is what I’ve been looking at for nine months.  The problem was that the stove was so heavy, I could’t move it.  It literally weighs a ton.  I also phoned around to find someone else to move it.  Apparently scrap yard service has gone downhill.  I thought, if I can’t move it, I’ll reuse it, so I tried to get the stove converted to gas.  I had one guy ready to do the job, but then the van, fridge, and computer broke in January, so I didn’t get back to him till March.  I was too late.  He had left the firm, and the new guy was not as good.  He wanted to rip everything out, including the chimney, which was the opposite of what I was trying to do.  And, I was still stuck with this pile of mess.  Anyway, a couple of weeks ago, I had a burst of energy (anger and frustration) and flipped the stove over.  I flipped it over again, and onto a large tarp.  That way I could drag the stupid thing out of the way.  It took two days to clean up the mess.  I was covered in soot, my fingernails were black, and my hair looked like a bird’s nest.  During that time, I ordered an electric fireplace, and today it arrived.

April 3 026 Fireplace

I was able to use the existing chimney pipe for a bit of authenticity.  It needs a bit of finishing, but I’m happy with it.  I have a remote control that switches the fire on and off.  I get instant heat, and look how clean it is!

It’s funny; Becky and I have both spent months on these separate projects, and yet they both came to fruition on the same day.  Weird and wonderful.  I have been freezing the last few winters while watching T.V.  I can’t wait to switch on the heat tonight.  Best day ever; oh yeah!

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Disability, Family, Home, Life, Photography, renovation, wheelchair and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Best Day Ever?

  1. Spashionista says:

    How wonderful for both of you!

    Spashionista (Alicia)

  2. Karaboo says:

    oh yeah!!!. Both projects look awesome and I know you’re glad they are done.

    Totally understand!! Enjoy your spaces and basking in the warmth of a job well done!

    • chebandbecky says:

      I know you understand. You start a small job and think, this will be easy, and the next thing you know, it’s Christmas. Now it’s Easter!!! What happened? LOL. 🙂
      The fireplace is wonderful. So toasty. Aaahhhh….it’s the little things in life.

  3. lizseville says:

    Both look great and I know how much it will mean. Just stand and delight in the results.

  4. Really pleased for both of you, I understand just how much that will do for you.

    BTW, tried to find you through my followers but you have gone missing
    ???

    • chebandbecky says:

      I am now following you (creepy, no?) so hopefully you can find me. 🙂

      Thanks, Steven. As you realize, small accommodations can make a huge difference in your daily life.

  5. Eveline Kellman says:

    Where there is a will there is a way. True Limey spirit To say nothing of sheer stubborness

Leave a Reply

