Condo Life

20130405-202620.jpg
We are staying at the condo tonight; the first time in two months. I can hardly believe it. The bathroom is done and we are back.

I have been organizing and packing the last two days, and I still forgot a couple of things. I spent about fours hours today cleaning. I scrubbed and mopped, but everything became saturated with dust and ended up just moving the dirt around. I also hung some new curtains in Becky’s room. They’re called black-out curtains. Wow! Do they ever work well. There was an immediate temperature reduction in her room once I’d hung them up. We will definitely be buying more of those as the condo faces south west. Anyway, by 8 o’ clock tonight, it felt as if I had finally made a dent in the work and some areas actually looked clean.

I am tired but content. Becky is watching Popcorn Pix on Family channel, so she is in heaven. We haven’t been able to watch television for two months! I don’t care, but Becky’s got some catching up to do. I am sitting on the balcony reading and writing, until the battery on my iPod runs out. Yeah, one of the things I forgot was the cable to charge the device.

Its been a super busy week. I’m glad we made it here and can finally relax.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Disability, Family, Home, Life, parenting, renovation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Condo Life

  1. I hope you enjoyed your first night in the condo. Another step on the road to independence!

  2. Have a awesome and relaxing weekend! 🙂

  3. scottishpirate says:

    Blackout curtains are DEFINITELY the way to go! I have them hung in my room, and they have made a big difference to the temperature of my room. Not that I have to worry about the same heat issues as you do!

    I only moved into my new flat in October of last year, it was a very stressful process in the end, especially as I had to fight the local council in order to get the social and personal care hours that I was entitled to. It all worked out in the end thankfully.

    I’m delighted that everything is coming along nicely for the two of you! It will all come together soon! It looks like the hardest part is over for you now so hopefully the only way is up from here on in!

    • chebandbecky says:

      Moving is stressful. Thank goodness you got everything sorted out!

      We are still tweaking the condo environment to make it as comfortable as possible. We are getting there; slowly and surely.

  4. Eveline Kellman says:

    Hope Becky settles in this time. You both deserve a rest. Hope the caregivers work out, that is always a big issue. Am gradually catching up with all my e mail and I have enjoyed reading all your blogs. they would make a good serial for t.v..It would give hope for many people. Grandma K

Leave a Reply

