Gardening

We’ve had a couple of decent days finally, so I was able to get out into the garden.  I love getting my hands in the soil, planting seeds, and watching nature.Daffodils

My first daffodils.  There’s lots of other things growing too.Spring 057 HyacinthsHyacinths,

Spring 053Heuchera, or Coral Bells, and

RhubarbRhubarb.

Although it’s a bit early to plant here, I found some frost protection at the local Dollar Store and decided to try some seeds.  This is one of the good things about staying at the house for the summer; planting a vegetable garden.  There’s nothing quite like a fresh heirloom tomato that’s still hot from being in the sun.

Spring 022 Spring 041

 

We are not frost free for another 4 or 5 weeks, so I’ll have to keep an eye on the weather.  Yes, those are purple carrots.  Becky picked them out a couple of years ago, and they seem to grow quite well.  They do turn everything purple though, so you can’t add them to stews.  Potatoes are already in from last year.  I just throw the baby ones back and they keep on growing.  I figure if you’re going to grow something, you might as well grow things you can’t buy in the store, so there is Peter Pan squash there too.  It’s a type of courgette in the shape of a UFO.  It grows like wildfire and is a heavy producer.  It is meatier than a courgette/zucchini.  We like it.  It goes really well with heirloom tomatoes.  🙂

Becky and I will plant the tomatoes and peppers on May 24/Victoria Day weekend.  It’s sort of traditional; not just for us, lots of canadians put in their annuals and veggies on that weekend.  Then we have a BBQ and drink a lot.  Perfect!

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Canada, Gardens, Life, Photography, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Gardening

  1. Karaboo says:

    That sounds awesome! I’d love to grow my own veggies, but alas, I have a black thumb!

  2. I only engage in the watering plants part of the process 😉 But my mom has her own little strip of land designated for her veggies where we plant winter melons, zucchinis, squashes, tomatoes, lettuce and green beans..oh and bitter melons 😉
    The only plant I own in the whole backyard is a little patch of lavender..and rhubarb..haha!

  3. Eveline Kellman says:

    Many vegies i have never heard of. Becky is certainly doing well, you are guiding her in the right direction Grandma K

Leave a Reply

