Service Will Be Resuming

Becky’s attendant care begins this morning after a three week break. I think she needed the time to figure things out, which she did, but I am ready for things to go back to normal.

I have been making things more comfortable at the house with luxuries such as curtains. We made do for seven months part-time, but now we’re here full-time, I’d like a few comforts. The main two are Internet and home phone. We have been running out of Internet almost every month, so I called on Friday and said I wanted to cancel the service. “Why”, they asked. “Because your competitor is offering five times the Internet at the same price!”. Within five minutes I was offered four times the Internet at a lower price. “Well that’s sounds a whole lot better”, I replied.

Next was home phone. It took a long time; between my accent and his accent, we ended up in hysterics because we kept mis-hearing what the other one had said. 🙂 I’m pretty sure I sorted it out and a phone line is being connected tomorrow. I’m so excited! I have had trouble keeping in contact with my family in England, and they could only leave messages at the condo. It has been difficult for me. I love my family and we are close. It felt lonely. Sniff. Anyway, enough of that. Back to the exciting part. I had to buy a phone.

I went to Future Shop. It has gone. Closed for good. What happened there? Next was Best Buy. One tiny aisle for home phones and they don’t even look like phones. They’re all cordless and digital. Cool. I wanted one with an answering machine built in and two handsets. This is what I picked up.

20130421-105336.jpg
I’ve got no idea what the sound quality is like. I’m assuming that digital technology has improved all of the speakers. I guess I’ll find out.

It looks like a nice day out. Sunny but cold perhaps when the attendant gets here I can go for a walk. Luxury!

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Disability, Family, Home, Life, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Service Will Be Resuming

  1. lizseville says:

    I think a collapse is always followed by a better period. Well done.

    • chebandbecky says:

      I think I could sleep for a week. 🙂
      It appears we are going into a more stable period, which is most welcome. We made it, as you say, and that is an achievement in itself. Thanks for your comment, Liz.

  2. All the best to you and Becky as you take the baby steps of life together. Have a great week!

  3. jackiewriting says:

    Good to hear Becky is entering a stable period 🙂

Leave a Reply

