How’s It Goin’?

If you are a Canadian, your answer should be, “pretty good” or, “not bad”, even if your arm is hanging off.

The first week back to normalcy is goin’ pretty good. The first day the attendant was 25 minutes late, the second day, she was an hour late, and today, Becky’s own support worker was supposed to start 3 1/2 hours ago and has not shown up or responded to phone calls. So…Becky and I baked mini chocolate cupcakes! Yay!

20130424-160741.jpgI was part way through icing them when I had a surge of creativity.

20130424-160851.jpg First I added peanut butter and then put vanilla icing over the top.

20130424-161129.jpg

20130424-161145.jpg Then Black Forest cupcakes topped with cherry.

20130424-161256.jpg Finally, some sprinkles.

20130424-161345.jpg And this is how they turned out…

20130424-161758.jpg …and with some bad editing they looked like this…

20130424-161855.jpg Yes, Andy Warhol lives on; in my kitchen.

I guess the trick with life, if there is one, is to not let things get you down, or not for very long anyway. Some things deserve a good cry in the closet, but this wasn’t one of them. I hope the rest of you are managing to get through Wednesday with a smile on your face. If not, we’ve got cupcakes!

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Canada, chaos, Disability, Family, Life, parenting, Photography, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to How’s It Goin’?

  1. Looks delicious! Baking day for me tonight also! 🙂 Lets hope whatever I bake turns out as good!

  2. Diane Mawr says:

    Yum! When are you opening Becky’s Blissful Bakery?

  3. sabot03196 says:

    Is the lack of reliability of the care workers a constant? What do you think the root causes are? It just seems so unprofessional to me.

    I’m just curious as we only require respite from time to time for our son and we tend to source our own people for that but that sort of non commitment to task would drive me nuts.

    • chebandbecky says:

      This week was partly due to bad scheduling, mis-communication, and I don’t know the third reason yet. Because Becky had time off, staff have been scheduled elsewhere. She gets squeezed in this week. One of the staff called us to say she was running behind, but she had been given the wrong phone number, so there’s a message out there somewhere…Becky’s own support worker that I hired, has been away due to a family crisis. She was due back today. I’ve got no idea what happened?

      Some weeks are like that. Human error. Different humans, different errors. We have learnt to be patient while things get sorted out, and baking with chocolate really helps. 🙂

  4. Nowan Zen says:

    I’ll simply reply “I’m not unwell, thank you.” And drool over the pics of cupcakes.

  5. redpeffer says:

    Those cakes look absolutely gorgeous! What a lovely way to turn a day round x

    • chebandbecky says:

      Always looking for ways to lift the mood. You can’t go wrong with chocolate! The cakes turned out surprisingly well. I would make the mini cupcakes again. Thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

