Zoom, Zoom…

20130428-102048.jpg
As I have been enjoying my new camera, photography, and Instagram so much, I decided to splurge on a zoom lens and some filters.

20130428-102225.jpg
This is my hobby, my entertainment, my creative fulfillment, as I wander through this somewhat restrictive life with Becky.

Our garden is full of beautiful birds. I have desperately tried to photograph them with little, or no, success. I have had cramps in my legs from crouching, fingers frozen, and arms aching from holding the camera. I have really wanted a zoom lens, but treated it as a luxury. I investigated them online and felt they were out of my price range. As a compromise, I went to the camera store yesterday to buy some filters. I mentioned about the zoom and the sales guy offered a very reasonably priced zoom lens. “Okay”, I said. It was a quick decision, and I kept looking at the bag on the way home, wondering what had possessed me?

I hastily put the zoom lens on the camera with a UV filter. After ten minutes in the garden, this beautiful, but noisy, Blue Jay sat on my newly painted gate. I took about seven shots before it flew off. I looked at the photos last night, once Becky was in bed. Wow! I could not believe the detail. I was so excited, I had to share the image. Did I really take this? I guess a good lens really does make a difference.

I’m now looking forward to photography even more. I have more options and can add a lot more variety to each shot. I’m so happy, I could burst.

Blue Jay

Thanks to all the wordpress photographers that have me given suggestions, advice, and support. You’ve all been really helpful and inspirational. 🙂

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Life, Photography, Photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Zoom, Zoom…

  1. I have a zoom and want a smaller one for the times I don’t want zoom… But I love my camera… I just end up using my iPhone… Wished I had my nice one yesterday when we were at the park… The shots on my blog would have been soooo much better… Like to loons and mergansers… 🙂

  2. quiall says:

    My favourite camera was a Nikon FG20 with a 70 – 300 Image zoom. I LOVED IT! When I could no longer hold it due to my MS I sold it for almost $200.00. It was 20 years old! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

