A Bit Of A Week

A bit of a week. Becky’s own support worker has started college, apparently, so we won’t be seeing her again. Thanks for that.

Becky’s left foot isn’t doing so great, so we’ve had to adjust our thinking a bit. We both had a good cry and a piece of chocolate mousse cake, so we’re good to go. Obviously it wasn’t quite that easy, but this is the life we have and we have to continue to live it. I’ve put a call into the Spasticity Clinic and we’ll deal with the outcome. In the meantime, here’s some photos from the week.

Monday was great. Coffee morning with two friends. I arrived early and caught a Tai Chi lesson in progress.

20130503-203943.jpg
I also wandered around the mall/shopping centre for ten minutes and got the next two shots.

20130503-204044.jpg

20130503-204056.jpg
It was really nice for me to spend some time in the company of adults who are outside the world of Becky; mostly.

You’ve seen the photos from Wednesday, so the last one is from today. Friday night at the condo…

20130503-204219.jpg
I love these amazing effects you can achieve with iPods/iPhones. This particular Panorama App seems to be idiot proof, which is an important feature for me, and was the only one that did this interesting 360 circle.

Me and my Apps; the hours just fly by. πŸ™‚ Have a good weekend everyone!

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in chaos, Disability, Family, Friends, Life, Photography, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Bit Of A Week

  1. What would we do without chocolate mousse cake? πŸ™‚

    Always an unsettling time when a care worker leaves you stranded, hope you both coping okay.

    Steven

    • chebandbecky says:

      We’re okay, thanks. I remind myself that we are still ahead. At times it feels like we’re swimming through mud, but then I look back and see how far we’ve come.

      I get tired of dealing with the same problems, but doesn’t everyone? The mousse cake is in the freezer for emergencies. πŸ™‚

      How are you? Are you up again?

      • I understand what you mean about swimming through mud and getting tired of dealing with the same problems. You know that I can relate to many aspects of your/Becky’s life. I see it as a conveyor belt, the same things will come back round full circle time and time again. Very much like care staff. One person moves on, they are replaced by someone new and the whole process of building trust and confidence begins again. Doesn’t mean you haven’t moved on, just that some aspects of life will always follow you.

        I’m doing great again thank you. Back ‘on my feet’ and feeling good, thanks.

        Steven

      • chebandbecky says:

        I know you understand. That’s why I write about more personal stuff to you than on the blog. πŸ™‚

        So glad to hear you’re up! Yay.

  2. Adrian Mann says:

    If only more people knew of the incredible healing powers of Dr. Cake! Put away those antidepressants, the Xanax and Haloperidol (the little whites ones – W-W…) and make yourself a Heston Blumenthal exploding chocolate gateau – http://www.channel4.com/4food/recipes/chefs/heston-blumenthal/exploding-chocolate-gateau-recipe
    It’s a lot of faffing about, and I abandoned the whole flocking business, but when it’s done you’ll have the world’s most hilarious cake – especially if the person you’re giving it to doesn’t know what’s in it! Bonus: you get to proudly and smugly go on about how you made the Ganache!
    Go on – do it! Set tastebuds to DefCon 3!

    • chebandbecky says:

      Bill said, “the healing properties of chocolate cannot be underestimated”. Mind you, I’ve never seen a cake recipe that requires a paint gun before! That recipe would definitely put a smile on everyone’s face. It made me laugh and I haven’t even tried it.

      Thanks for sharing that. You’re a deeply warped person. Please stay that way. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

