Pink and Purple

20130505-151250.jpg
It’s hot outside, so we decided to plant the flowers that we bought last weekend. This is quite a workout for both of us. I lift Becky in and out of her wheelchair, and she has to manoeuver herself and maintain balance.

20130505-151613.jpg
Digging the hole.

20130505-151644.jpg
Taking the plant out of the pot.

20130505-151721.jpg
Put it in the hole and fill it in.

20130505-152134.jpg
I think there were nine plants in total. Enough to get Becky covered in dirt, anyway. She said to me, “I love this garden”. I said, “I do too”. When we moved here seven years ago, there were two huge trees, a rickety tree house, and lawn. We have planted everything that’s here, pruned the hedges, and put siding on the ugly shed. It’s ours. It is here because of us.

My mom taught me about gardening. It was one of her loves. We grew daffodils in all sorts of containers, but my favourite was a blue and white windmill. We picked apples from the tree and made pies with my Nan. Mom showed me how to prune roses, as we had a rose garden in the front. Her enjoyment was passed on to me, and now, it seems, I have passed it in to Becky.

Gardening, and gardens are such a joy, especially on a day as beautiful as today.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Disability, Family, Gardens, Home, Life, parenting, Photography, Photos, wheelchair and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pink and Purple

  1. Spashionista says:

    I used to hate gardening, urban girl that I am, but now I love to see our roses and perennials bloom. It’s good to see Becky in action and I can’t wait to see your garden’s progress 😉

    Spashionista (Alicia)

  2. Eveline Kellman says:

    Love seeing you and Becky at work, Your Mum also passed on a lot of patience to you to handle Becky so well. It is good she enjoys being so active. Keep up the good work, you are a very special person Ev

Leave a Reply

