Closing Down

I’ve been thinking about this for a while.  Our lives have changed and the purpose of the blog has gone.  Who knows when or if Becky will attempt independent living again.  Every story needs an end, and I think this is the end of one part of our story.

When I began, I wondered if I could write for a year; it has been almost two.  Writing helped me through one of the most difficult, and lonely, parts of my life.  Thankfully, that time has passed, and both Becky and I are enjoying life again.  I thank all of you for reading, commenting, and generally supporting us on our journey.  It seems we have arrived…somewhere…somewhere safe, somewhere warm, somewhere relaxing, somewhere good.  We will stay here a while, I think, and spend time with each other, with friends, and with family.

Moonshine 2013 030

 

I leave you with a photo of Becky, doing what Becky does best; drinking tea.

Best Wishes to all of you, and thanks. Cheryl and Becky xx

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in blogging, Disability, Family, Friends, Home, Life, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Closing Down

  1. quiall says:

    I only discovered your blog a short time ago but I have thoroughly enjoyed the journey! I will miss your upbeat outlook on life and the wondeful pictures of Becky. May your journey forward be all that you could wish for. Take great care and thank you.

  2. Diane Mawr says:

    I will miss your daily blogs. My truest and best positive thoughts go out to you and Becky.

  3. Nancy says:

    i will miss you and Becky. I enjoyed reading about yours and Becky’s journeys. It has also been nice to read the writings of a fellow blogger who shares geographical similarities. All the best to you both!

  4. In the short time we have known each other I would say we have grown as friends so I am slightly biased when putting forward this suggestion.

    You said that writing has held you through some of the most difficult and lonely times of your life but that part of the story has came to an end.

    Why not take us with you as the next part of your story begins?

    Share your happiness while helping and inspiring others to fight through the difficult and lonely times. You have been through so much, it would be a shame to close the book and deny others the benefit of reading it.

    Blogging is not just a tool to help you through tough times. It is also an opportunity, maybe even a responsibility, to help others.

    I hope you decide to keep us company but if not I wish yourself and Becky all the happiness in the world.

    X

    • chebandbecky says:

      Hi Steven, friends indeed. 🙂

      I enjoy writing. I think I might write about something else though…cooking, gardening, photography, I don’t know, but I think it’s time for a change. I’ll be keeping in touch with you, if that’s okay, and will continue to follow your story.

      Cheryl

  5. redpeffer says:

    I too will miss your wonderful outlook. I wish you both all the very best.

  6. Eveline Kellman says:

    Have enjoyed your blogs. Please keep in touch. Is Becky going to live part time at the condo? She appears to be handling her time in the condo much better than earlier attempts. Ev

    • chebandbecky says:

      Of course we’ll keep in touch. You will be getting a private blog with Becky’s updates.

      We are only staying one night a week at the condo. Becky is not able to move her skills from one place to another. It’s not uncommon with her level of injury. It will just take time.

      Thanks so much for reading.

      Cheryl x

  7. mikew66 says:

    Good Luck and Thank you for your wonderful story. All the best

    Mike

  8. Spashionista says:

    I understand, but I don’t like this. I have met so few people like you that understand disability from the “outside in”. It is a rare thing. On the other hand, I’ve never seen the need to focus on disability as a constant subject for an audience – and I’m disabled – so why should you? You have proven to be talented at so many things it’s only natural for you to want to transition into other areas that are more geared towards your own personal accomplishments.
    I truly hope that we can stay in touch, Cheryl. You are a wonderful woman and I wish you all the best!

    Spashionista (Alicia)

    • chebandbecky says:

      You’re so kind, Alicia. Thank you for understanding. I think you see things very clearly.

      I’ll still be reading your blog and will keep in touch. 🙂

      Cheryl

  9. Aditix says:

    Good luck to both of you. Hope you`ll be back with another blog sometime.

    • chebandbecky says:

      Thank you so much for reading. I’m sure I’ll find something else to write about, but I’m going to have a bit of a break first.

      I’ll be checking your photos regularly. 🙂

  10. csroth3 says:

    God bless you both. I hope life continues to improve, and no matter what happens I wish you peace and love.

  11. lizseville says:

    I feel sad. I only just ‘met’ you. Cannot a blog change? Ah well Good luck if you do go, it is not for me to argue!!!

    • chebandbecky says:

      Blogs can change, but this one was always about Life with Becky. I don’t think I’ll be writing for a while, and I’m not sure what will come next. Sometimes it’s better to start over. Thanks.

  12. lizseville says:

    And if you are ever back in Brum do let me know.

  13. Michael Lai says:

    Whatever you decide, best of luck for you both in the future and many thanks for your continued perusal and support.
    Regards,
    Michael

  14. scottishpirate says:

    I have only been reading your blog for a short time, but it has been fantastic being able to converse with someone who understands my situation very well. I will certainly miss reading about you and Becky’s adventures, and I hope you do decide to return to the blogsphere in the future.

    You have definitely inspired me to keep writing. I wish you and Becky all the best for the future!

  15. Oh no! I have been offline for a while, only returning today to discover this… I will miss you! Best of everything to you and Becky. Don’t forget writing will always be there for you. You can blog again. And I hope I find you again if you do.

  16. But what if we want you back? Just to stay in tuned! 😦 so I don’t really LIKE this post!

    • chebandbecky says:

      I’m still deciding what to do. I’m enjoying Instagram, but still don’t feel like writing.

      We are both well. I hired a personal chef for Becky and she is brilliant! It has eased my work-load and given me some much needed free time.

      I check in on my blog-buddies to see how you’re all doing. It’s lovely to hear from you.

      Cheryl

  17. Hi Cheryl,

    I’m back to blogging/reading blogs after a long hiatus. I’m sad to have missed this post when it was current.

    I hope both you and Becky are doing well and staying warm in this current weather storm.

    All the very best in 2014!
    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

