Update

20131012-201452.jpg
I am sitting here on the balcony at Becky’s condo, probably for the last time, and it seemed like the perfect time to let you know what’s been happening in the last five months.

Becky decided in June that she did not want to continue going to the adult day program. I knew it was going to happen, but it came a little sooner than I had anticipated. Becky home again seven days a week; oh boy. Luckily, I had been talking to a chef friend about working with Becky on meal planning and preparation. The discussion quickly changed from two mornings a week, to five mornings a week! She started working with Becky at the end of June, and we haven’t looked back.

Becky has improved in so many ways and has acquired several new skills that help her in the kitchen. She made her first Grilled Cheese sandwich last week, completely independently. Yahoo! She makes several different things for her breakfast, when previously she could only make one thing.

On the down side, things came to a head at the condo. We hit a financial low and a decision was made to try and rent it out. Despite a year of traveling back and forth between the house and the condo, Becky never wanted to stay there more than one night a week. We are spending the Thanksgiving holiday here so we can pack. While other Canadians stuff their faces with turkey, we are packing and moving boxes of DVDs, clothes, food, plates, etc. the movers are coming Thursday to collect the furniture and bring it back to the house, seventeen months after I had moved it from the house to the condo.

I have had my first major shocks with my health during the last month. I am now on three medications instead of none. Anyway, after three weeks I am feeling better; not 100%, but five hundred times better than when I first saw my family doctor.

Our lives have changed direction again, and we find ourselves wandering a different path. I’m glad to be settled in one place and I think Becky’s personal chef is a winner. I look forward to a few months of routine and an occasional moment of relaxation. I could do with a rest.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Disability, Friends, Home, Independence, Life, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Update

  1. It’s nice to see a post from you again! Welcome back 🙂

  2. Sarah says:

    Have missed your posts – glad to hear all is ok.

Leave a Reply

