Training

I mentioned a week or so ago, that I was studying. Yesterday, I passed! I am now licensed to drive a bus.

20140613-084143-31303756.jpg
It took two weeks of training, a medical, a written test, and a road test. I Also spent three days learning about air brakes and passing that too. There were times my head was so full of information, I just couldn’t take anything else in.

I trained with two other women from Mississauga. We studied together and worried together. We all passed the same day and have become friends.

Why did I do this? My main goal for the year was to get a part-time job. After having my resume ignored by several retail and food outlets, I decided I had nothing to lose. I knew it was going to be hard to re-enter the work force at my age, but was expecting to get an interview at least! It was a hard knock to the self-esteem, I must say.

I had been thinking about driving a school bus as the hours are great. Two hour shifts are perfect for when I leave Becky alone. Four hours is a stretch and eight is not possible at this time. We lost the individualized funding in March, so wages for support staff are coming out of our pockets. I want Becky to continue cooking with Jen, so I decided to go back to work. That’s how I ended up upgrading my drivers license, meeting some wonderful people, and having a great time.

I passed my road test yesterday so my name will be put forward for available work. I’ll let you know once I get my first route, but for now, I’m enjoying the feeling of success.

20140613-090239-32559679.jpg

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Canada, Friends, Independence, Life, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Training

  1. Eveline Kellman Becky's Paternal Grandmother says:

    Way to go, you will do well and enjoy the experience and it will lead to greener pastures.

  2. larrylatour says:

    Well done! I learned to drive a bus when I managed bus drivers in Vancouver. Not easy. I’ll be facing the job hunt soon too. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Wow!! Good for you! That takes some chutzpah!!!

  4. Spashionista says:

    Outstanding! You’re picking up life skills left and right. I’ve noticed you’ve become an excellent photographer, and now you can point your camera out the school bus window at every stop you make 😉

    Alicia
    spashionista.com

Leave a Reply

