Stormy Weather

We had severe weather warnings for Tuesday evening. There were tornado warnings north of us. It was one of those rare times where the meteorologist got it right.

20140619-181845-65925586.jpg

20140619-181844-65924365.jpg

20140619-181846-65926770.jpg
A large tree at the back of the property split, fell, and covered another tree. The tree that was buried was bent double. The rain was so hard that it came through windows and doors.

I asked a neighbour if I could borrow a power saw and then I spent seven hours yesterday cutting up the tree. I borrowed a reciprocating saw, which has a blade that moves backwards and forwards. If I didn’t have the saw tight against the branch or the branch started moving, then the blade stopped moving and the saw moved backwards and forwards! My arm was flailing around and my brain felt like it was inside a cocktail shaker. Needless to say, I ended up with a sore shoulder and a headache.

Anyway, we are okay, there was no damage to the house and the mess is cleaned up. The tree that was buried actually bounced back up once the weight was taken off it. There was no damage to it. Nature is amazing, in so many ways.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Canada, chaos, Friends, Home, Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stormy Weather

  1. Wow! I am glad you are well. I used to live in rural Illinois and had many opportunities to weather severe storms. Always exciting and often scarey!

  2. larrylatour says:

    We were stuck at Pearson for two and a half hours that day because of those storms. Crazy hard rain and wind. Glad all you lost was a tree and I totally remember the first time I used a reciprocating saw. Same result.

    • chebandbecky says:

      I’ve heard three people refer to the ‘crazy rain’. It really was, wasn’t it.
      Sorry to hear about the flight delay, but I guess it’s better to be late and safe.
      Glad to hear I’m not the only person to experience a saw shaking. 🙂
      Thanks for sharing and hope you are home safe.

Leave a Reply

