There’s A Chipmunk In The House

Our cat loves chipmunks. She waits for the good weather so she can stalk them, chase them, and occasionally catch them. Due to our untypical mild weather, I’ve been leaving the back door open. I was sitting outside one afternoon when the cat shows up with a chipmunk in her mouth. The door is open so I jump up to block her way. She stands there for a moment, with food dropping out of the chipmunks mouth, and then she lets it go. Where does little chippy go? Straight towards the open door and into the house.

20140720-194325-71005769.jpg
They are tricky to get out because they see every barrier as a challenge and jump straight over it. Anyway, I managed to ‘herd’ it towards the back door and out.

This morning I was on the phone when in walks the cat with another chipmunk. This time she takes it into my bedroom and drops it, where it proceeds to scurry and hide under the bed. I didn’t have time to deal with it as I had plans to go out.

I had a lovely afternoon with my friend and returned home. There is no sign of the chipmunk in my room. Good, but where is it? The cat sniffed it out behind the piano. I shut kitty in a room and persuaded chippy to go somewhere else, which was basically another room, but at least closer to the open door. Why do they only see these things when they run in and can’t see them to run out?

Chipmunk is now under a dresser five feet from the door. I look under the dresser, but it’s gone. Huh? I open the bottom drawer…

20140720-195430-71670209.jpg
…chipmunk, anyone?

I won’t go into tedious details, but it took a lot of chipmunk scurrying and jumping before it finally discovered the rather large portal to the outside! Thank goodness. In total, it had been in the house for eight hours.

I love having a big garden and having lots of green space around, but sometimes nature gets too close for comfort. I hope I’ve learnt my lesson and remember to close the screen door from now on. It is supposed to keep critters out, after all.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in Gardens, Home, Humour, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

