Keys to the Bus

It’s official! I picked up the keys to my school bus this morning. Yeah! It has been a bit chaotic, of course, as the bus company changed and cancelled routes. Becky has started new treatment on her left ankle to straighten it out. She has tightened up this year and I can’t get her splint on. This is great news and Becky is really excited about having her, “stupid foot straightened out”. Unfortunately, it means weekly trips to Toronto for the next two months. She’s also got some dental problems so she has to go for appointments for that. I needed to know details of my bus route so I could figure out how to get Becky to these things.

I was offered a route about three weeks ago so I started planning. It was going to be tight but we could just squeeze in the visits to Toronto. I then waited for the company to call me in to practice the route. Instead I got a call on Tuesday offering me a different route. It turns out that my route had been cancelled. Why I wasn’t told, I don’t know. Anyway, I asked about the other route. Too late. It had been given to someone else. I was gutted. Complete shock. I was unemployed before I had started.

At 5 pm the same day, I got a call about a temporary route and to come in on Thursday. I was now freaking about Becky’s appointments. How was this all to be sorted out and me learn a new route in four days?

I won’t bore you with the long wait, craziness, crowded experience at the bus company. I did get a route, but I can’t work Becky’s Toronto visits into it. I asked a couple of people to help me out, but that didn’t get me anywhere, so we’ve decided to cancel the first appointment and rebook the rest.

It was a relief to see I have a fairly new bus with no eccentricities or rust. Did I mention I’ll be driving students with special needs? I have a bit of experience with that. I can’t believe it. I actually start work tomorrow. After a week of stress and sleepless nights, I suddenly feel relaxed.

About chebandbecky

I was born in Birmingham, England and emigrated to Canada in 1988. Becky is my daughter who was injured in a car accident. We are working towards her independence.
This entry was posted in chaos, Disability, Home, Independence, Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Keys to the Bus

  1. Eveline Kellman Becky's Paternal Grandmother says:

    SOME OF US ARE BORN TO HAVE MORE PROBLEMS THAN OTHERS. PERHAPS THE GOOD LORD WILL GIVE YOU A COFFEE BREAK ONE OF THESE DAYS!

  2. andrewvokes says:

    At least things are moving in the right direction for you!

  3. aliciasunday says:

    Well done for getting past this hurdle, hope the driving goes well and you enjoy it.

  4. Best of luck in your new adventures!

Leave a Reply

